Petlife logo

The Three Amigos

The Best Most Lazy Coworkers Ever

By Sherry Little-RaganPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
4
My Three Heartbeats

I nominate Ace, Moses and Frankie (from left to right) as my EmPAWyee's of the month. Each of these dogs have a special story that endear them to my heart. Like many people during this pandemic I'm working from home, so I set up my office in our sunroom. I am a quality engineer for a semi-conductor company, and I spend most of my days in Microsoft Teams meetings, creating trainings, and completing paperwork. Sometimes my days are tedious and monotonous but whenever I look to my left and see these three just relaxing on the couch enjoying their life it brings so much joy to my heart. These three came to us in different ways and they have distinctly different personalities, but I couldn't imagine life without them now.

"The Mayor" Moses is our seven-year-old German Shepherd, Rottweiler mixed dog. I was living in a house in a rural area in North Carolina and I owned a blue-nosed Pitbull named Iago. Unfortunately, he was hit by a car and killed at four years old and I was devastated. One of my neighbors felt so bad she showed up at my house two weeks after Iago died with one of the cutest puppies I've ever seen. He was just a big ball of black fur with some huge paws. I took one look at him and fell instantly in love and he's been by my side ever since. Moses has enough personality for several dogs. He is very vocal and is the first one to let you know when it's time to go outside or eat because he howls like a professional. He also likes to wait until I start a meeting to let everyone in attendance know he is present. We call him the Mayor because he loves all dogs big or small and gets along with most people. He is truly the heart of this family as he keeps everyone entertained on a daily basis, but he is also super protective in line with his German Shepherd nature.

"Francis Wellington III" Frankie is our six and half year-old Pitbull, Hound mixed dog. My husband and I were dating, and he was living with his cousin on their grandfather's land. He kept telling me about this beautiful fawn colored dog that was like a property dog. Some of the family fed him scraps occasionally but no one claimed him. He was also filthy and covered in tics and fleas. I started buying him dog food when I bought Moses food and I made sure my husband left food for him twice a day every day. Then I brought him a flea collar and some flea and tick shampoo and begged my boyfriend at the time to catch him and give him a bath. He thought I was crazy, but he got it done. It didn't take long before we were engaged and decided to move to a different area in North Carolina. My husband found a job first and the day we were moving him out of his place I met Frankie for the first time. He came right to me while I was sitting in the passenger seat of my SUV and laid his head in my lap and let out the longest sigh I ever heard from a dog. It's like he knew I couldn't leave him there and he was right. I took him home that day with me and Moses and we've been together ever since. You would never know Frankie spent the first two years of his life as a stray if you saw him now. He has absolutely no personality which is more endearing than you would think. We don't know if he's happy, sad or angry by looking at his face because it has the same expression at all times, bored. He does like the finer things in life though such as soft beds and clothes and expensive treats. He also tends to sit like a human which entertains my family and friends endlessly. My best friend took one look at him sitting in a chair with his legs crossed in a sweater and stated Frankie is short for Francis Wellington III and that is the name I call him when I'm agitated. Frankie brought compassion into our family and I will always be grateful for his presence.

"Psycho Sid" Ace is our five-year-old blue nosed Pitbull. He is another transplant from my husband's family. A couple of years after we were married, they moved the NFL Pro Bowl from Hawaii to Orlando, Florida which was a big deal for my family. Our family loves football and it just so happens my mother-in-law, sister-in-law and nephews live in Kissimmee, Florida. We started making an annual trip to the Pro Bowl and visiting with my husband's family while we were there. On our second visit, we found the family acquired Ace who did not look well. His hair was falling out in clumps and he had some kind of rash on his skin and he just looked miserable. We discovered they weren't taking him outside at all because they said no one could walk him so they just cleaned up behind him the apartment. It was a very sad life for such a beautiful dog. My mother-in-law also had custody of her deceased granddaughter's two-year-old son and he tortured the dog by attacking him with toys and scaring him all the time. Whenever we visited, we took him for long walks and spoiled him as much as we could, and he was always so happy to see us. On our third Pro Bowl trip visit we could see Ace was looking even worse than before. My husband and I convinced the family to let us take him home with us where he would have room to roam and be free and be treated for his skin condition. He has been with us ever since. Ace is a stage five clinger and a love bug. I think he was ignored so much he just loves to snuggle with you and be rubbed on constantly. My stepson named him Psycho Sid because he absolutely hates loud noises and goes a little crazy when he hears something loud. For instance, he attacks fire alarms if the battery dies and they emit the annoying beeping sound. He also chases light reflections on the wall like a cat. We have two skylights in our living room and sometime the light will reflect off my watch on to the wall and Ace will attack the wall at full speed and try to catch the light with his paw. Ace brought comfort into our family and every snuggle I get from him is a special gift that I cherish.

These three Amigos are vital to my family and have been instrumental to our family surviving the changes in our daily life after the introduction of the Coronavirus. Lockdown was very difficult for our very social family but through it all these three have been there to provide heart, compassion and comfort. Now that I'm home during the day working I constantly find them sitting on the couch in my office with me even though they have the run of the entire house just keeping me company and reminding me how blessed I am to be a part of their story.

dog
4

About the Creator

Sherry Little-Ragan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.