Petlife logo

THE TAIL OF MY TOY POODLE

LEFT ALONE

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
THE TAIL OF MY TOY POODLE
Photo by Erin Wilson on Unsplash

It all happened suddenly in November when I called 911 because I had gotten sick with colitis. It was a normal night and the colitis came without warning. I was lying down on my bed with my stomach hurting so badly. I knew exactly what made me sick, it was colitis. I had been thru this a few times before! I had no choice but to call 911 and have the paramedics come to my home. I was in a lot of pain when they arrived at my home. They came and took my vital signs and started an IV. That night I made it to the hospital in an ambulance. I had to leave my home suddenly and poor Smokie my toy poodle was left all alone!

That night the doctors admitted me because my blood pressure was too low. I had my nightclothes on but the nurse took them off me to put a hospital gown on me. I asked her to call my daughter and let her know I was in the hospital. She called my daughter to let her know I was in the hospital. My daughter and her husband came to the hospital. They asked me about Smokie and I told them he was home all alone. I said to them if they would go to my home to check on him. My daughter said they would check on him and take him outside. When I was admitted they left the hospital and drove to my home to take care of Smokie. At that time I was feeling bad because I left my toy poodle all alone.

That night I could not sleep because the room was cold and I was worried about Smokie. I knew my daughter did go to my home to check on Smokie and let him do his business outside. Then the nurse came to give me another IV, she also turned up the temperature in the room. The next morning I called my daughter to ask her to bring me my phone and check on Smokie. She said she will do it after she left the hospital. Then she called me at the hospital and told me what happened I couldn't believe what she said to me! When she arrived at my home she thought someone broke into my home. That was not the case, it all was a toy poodle called Smokie! He didn't like being left alone suddenly and he did not know where I was. He was left alone many times and there was never a problem with him!

I had clothes on a chair in the bedroom, he took all the clothes and dragged them throughout the home. When my daughter saw the mess she knew it was Smokie who did it! He was very happy to see her but she had a dog and could not take him with her. Her dog didn't like other animals, she had no choice but to leave Smokie home alone! Later that night my daughter drove to my home to feed Smokie and take him outside. When she went inside my home she found my medicine on the kitchen floor. The medicine was on the kitchen table, Smokie opened them, and threw all the medicine on the kitchen floor. My daughter picked up all the medicine and put them in the proper bottles. My daughter also found out that Smokie got on the kitchen counter. She had to pick up the mess he created on the floor!

Shortly after that episode, my daughter called me. When I answered the phone, my daughter told me what my toy poodle Smokie did! I asked her if Smokie ate any of my medicine, she told me she didn't think he ate the medicine. I couldn't believe he was getting into things! I told my daughter it was getting very dangerous to keep Smokie home alone. I said to her if she or her husband would drive Smokie to our friend's home. She said she will let her husband know the situation with Smokie! She talked to her husband, they agreed to drive Smokie to our friend's home. I called our friend, I asked her if she will take care of Smokie while I was in the hospital. She gladly accepted the invitation, she had taken care of Smokie the trouble maker a long time ago. Our friend loved Smokie, I knew she would take good care of him.

That night my daughter's husband drove to my home to get Smokie. He then drove the forty-five minutes to our friend's home. Our friend called me to let me know she had Smokie. I told her to keep an eye on him because of the medical situation. I prayed he didn't swallow any of the medicine and our friend didn't have to take him to the veterinary place. She called me the next day and said to me Smokie is doing fine. After talking to her I was grateful for my toy poodle being in good health. I said to myself what a fiasco Smokie caused!

I thought to myself Smokie acted up because I did not come home that night. He knew if I left him home alone I would come home at a reasonable time. This was not a good time for me to get sick with colitis and a hospital stay. My daughter's birthday was a week away, I wanted to be at her birthday party. The next day I talked with the doctor, he told me he was going to let me go home in two days. I told him that is great, I can not wait to go home!

The next day I called my daughter and told her I can go home in two days. I was getting better because of all the antibiotics they were giving me intravenously. I asked my daughter if she talked with our friend about Smokie? My daughter said yes she did talk to our friend. Smokie is doing great, he has a new friend, a cat. I was relieved he was doing great and he was with our friend. My daughter said to me what a mess he did, but she cleaned it all. She knew my dog didn't make messes like that. I thanked her for cleaning Smokie's mess up! I said to her I didn't think my dog would cause such trouble!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.