Petlife logo

CHEVY AND THE BALD EAGLE

CHEVY THE DOG MISSES A BALD EAGLE

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
THE BALD EAGLE WAS LOOKING FOR A MEAL BUT WHAT HE FOUND WAS A DOG

One day it all happened suddenly! The Bald Eagle and Chevy, Chevy is a half Pit Bull and Black Lab. He loves people but animals well that is a different story. Chevy does not like other animals at all and that is why he almost had a Bald Eagle for lunch one day!! My daughter lives next to Fish Creek there is a lot of fish in the creek. Bald Eagles love to go there to catch the fish and eat them! We see a lot of Bald Eagles living in Alaska it is nothing new to Alaskans. One day my daughter put Chevy out on his run. He was doing his business and wining because he was outside and his master was inside. He is just a big baby and he wanted back in the home! My daughter did not pay any attention to what was happening outside. Then Chevy starts barking and my daughter yells at him to stop. What she didn't realize is Chevy was barking at a Bald Eagle!

Chevy will bark at any animal or bird if he sees it! He is a very smart and special dog for my daughter. When my daughter is sick he gets a blanket and he gives it to her. One time my daughter fell asleep in the bathtub. After a long time went by, she was not out. Chevy pushed the door opened and found her and woke her up. They have a bond like no other I have seen between a dog and a human. I have a Toy Poodle and he is very smart but Chevy he is a smart remarkable dog! My daughter got Chevy from her husband's brother. He went to live far away and asked his brother to find a home for him. He said yes but they fell in love with Chevy and did not have the heart to take him to the pound.

They did not take Chevy to the pound they Kept him! My daughter did not realize at the time what Chevy is like. That day Chevy wanted outside to do his business. My daughter tied him up on his run, and went inside the house. Chevy started barking up a storm, my daughter did not know what he was barking about. My daughter looked out the window and did not see anything. My daughter went outside to see what Chevy was barking about. She looked up and saw a Bald Eagle but she did not think anything about it! Chevy was carrying on wining and barking. The Bald Eagle must have seen the dog food that was in Chevy's dish. The Bald Eagle was hungry and the dog food was an easy meal to get!

Sundenly the Bald Eagle took off and it flew in circles eyeing the dog food. My daughter saw the Bald Eagle flying in the sky, she seen the Bald Eagle flying toward Chevy. The Bald Eagle flew to Chevy, the dog did not like the Bald Eagle! The Eagle was trying to get the dog food left in Chevy's dish. When the Eagle did a nose dive, Chevy Jumped High into the air trying to catch the Bald Eagle! In the meantime my daughter screamed at Chevy and started crying! Bald Eagles are a bird of pray and they love fish and small animals. All the Eagle wanted was a free lunch but little did the Eagle know it might be the end of it's life!

Did Chevy managed to hurt or kill the Bald Eagle? Well, luck would have it Chevy misses the Bald Eagle. The Eagle flew away from Chevy and away from danger! My daughter could not belive what happened, she almost had to call Fish and Game! Bald Eagles are on the indangered list, and if Chevy had hurt it or killed it that would be very bad! My daughter would have to call Alaska Fish and Game and tell them what happened! She was nervous and very upset, but she managed to get Chevy inside the house. That day when Chevy almost killed the Eagle it was unfrorgetfull! When my daughter told me what happened I could not belive it! I told her it was all over and thank the good lord the Bald Eagle managed to fly away from Chevy! I was very glad she didn't have to call Alaska Fish and Game!

What a day she had but it all turned out ok. I told her I hope this never happen's again! She told me Chevy probably would have killed the Eagle. Chevy is half Pit Bull and he has a strong bite. Pit Bulls are strong dogs unlike my little Toy Poodle! When I visit my daughter I leave my dog home! I love my dog and he is safe at home and not in danger. One bite from a big dog and that would probably be the end of my dog Smokie! Chevy is a great dog and I am glad my daughter kept him. My daughter and her husband did a great thing by keeping Chevy! When I visit my daughter Chevy wants me to pet him and I do. I raised German Shephards and my girls was brought up with them. That is why my girls have dogs and they too like animas.

By Dustin Humes on Unsplash

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.