Petlife logo

The Real Queens of Wakanda VIII: She’s Almost There

Corinne Woodson is a third-year vet student at the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine who documents her journey to becoming a veterinarian on social media.

By Jenna DeedyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Corinne Woodson with a rabbit under her care. Photo by Ms.Woodson herself.

I can remember when I was doing my internships for college, I would often document some of my experiences working at the facilities on my old blog, and other social media pages that I had. However, out of respect for some policies that these facilities had regarding social media practices, I had to limit myself to posts approved by my supervisors such as interactions with the animals in our care, the animals themselves, or us just exploring the different animal habitats that the facility offers the public to experience. Whenever I posted something about my internship experiences, they all focused on what it was like to work with the animals that were under that facility’s care. I kept anything regarding meetings and other sensitive information out of it.

This was how I could relate to third-year vet student Corinne Woodson, who documents her journey to becoming a veterinarian on her social media page. She documents the trials and tribulations of what it is like to study veterinary science at the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine. Once I saw her page on social media, I knew I had to share her story and she had since agreed to open up to the world about her journey.

Here she is with her story.

What made you decide to become a veterinarian in the first place?

My reason for becoming a veterinarian is SO typical! Even though I didn’t grow up with a bunch of animals in the house, I watched a lot of animal planet and my elementary school had class pets (gerbils, iguanas, and guinea pigs). I fell in love with animals and knew I wanted to work with them. As I progressed through my education, I fell in love with science and medicine. Well, what job could I do that combines my love for animals, science, and medicine? Veterinarian science became a simple answer.

2. If you have had any animal experience, where did you gain such experience?

To gain animal experience, I started shadowing veterinarians over the summer in high school. Then, I worked at a doggy daycare one summer in college. Another summer in college, I interned at a wildlife rehabilitation center. These things built my resume just enough to land me my first job as a veterinary assistant at Banfield Pet Hospital. I worked there between college and vet school. I’ve been to vet school ever since!

3. Where do you currently seek your education for veterinary studies?

I currently attend Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.

4. If you have had any experience with animals, can you share with me your favorite animal experience you had and how it helped you with your vet career journey?

My favorite animal experience was doing an externship at the Wildlife Center of Virginia. It helped me because I want to work with exotics and wildlife besides small animals as a veterinarian. The experience was very hands-on with wild animals, ranging from birds of prey to turtles, to bears, to rabbits and so much more. I learned a lot about making medical decisions, something that is very important for my career journey.

5. What has been the biggest challenge of your career path?

The biggest challenge to my career path has been COVID-19 and the lack of exotic animal opportunities. COVID-19 has canceled a lot of my external experiences and limited my hands-on opportunities at school. I feel that getting to practice what I am learning in the classroom is crucial to my education, and COVID-19 has limited that. I have very limited exotic opportunities. My school does not have a track or focus on it, so I am tracking the small animals. My only chances to get hands-on exotic experiences are external opportunities, and my school only gives me two. This lack of practice with species I want to work with is going to be a challenge if I want to feel confident as a doctor.

6. If you have a preference in terms of which animals you want to work with, which species would you like to specialize in? Why?

As stated in earlier questions, I want to work with exotics, wildlife, and small animals. Mostly exotic pets. I want to work with wildlife because I want to do my part in rehabilitating them for release back into the wild. To me, the work I do is extremely rewarding, and love giving these animals another chance at life in the wild. I want to work with exotic pets on top of small animals because I adore exotic pets (birds, reptiles, small mammals) and small animals and want to use my DVM to give them ALL the healthiest life possible not only through medicine but also through educating clients. Many people, when they think “vets,” most think dog/cat doctor, but I know I can help so many more pets.

7. What has been the biggest challenge for you as a vet student of color?

My biggest challenge that I have experienced as a student of color is dealing with the assumptions based on my skin color. For example, common assumptions for a vet student of color like myself are that I have a careless attitude and that the only reason I am in this program is because of the color of my skin and not because I earned it. These assumptions are very hurtful and can present as people not listening to what you have to say, discrediting you, and not wanting to engage with you. These assumptions can make you “difficult to work with” which is not ideal in a professional program. Trying to mitigate these assumptions and working to discredit them is challenging and leaves you aware of how you are presenting yourself.

8. What do you hope kids of color will get out from hearing your story?

I hope kids of color understand that it is possible. I want them to understand that they can be absolutely anything they want to be, even if they have never seen someone that looks like them do it. It will be harder because of their skin color, but very possible. I did it. So many others have done it, and so can they.

Thank you so much, Corinne, for your time with these questions and I wish you luck on your journey to becoming a vet. If you wish to follow Corinne’s vet school journey, check her out on Instagram where she’s known as @myveterinaryjourney.

interview
3

About the Creator

Jenna Deedy

Zoo and Aquarium Professional, Educator, Cosplayer, Writer and B.A. in Psychology whose got a lot to share when it comes to animals, zoos, aquariums, conservation, and more.

Instagram: @jennacostadeedy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.