Petlife logo

The Real Queens of Wakanda VI: An Odyssey

In the latest entry to the Hispanic Heritage Month edition of “The Real Queens of Wakanda”, Claudia Nathaly Erreguin, a vet tech and zookeeper at CuriOdyssey, opens up on how the connection between people and animals has inspired her to one day work with animals in a zoological setting.

By Jenna DeedyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Claudia during her time at Moorpark College's teaching zoo. Photo by Claudia. N.E.

For many people who pay a visit to a zoo or an aquarium, there is no connection greater than one between people and animals. This is because whenever people get the chance to see a training session take place at a facility, they get to see more than just a typical animal “show”, they also get to see a true bond between animals and their caregivers. This is because these caregivers know what the animals under their care want and need to continue to thrive. For Californian Claudia Nathaly Erreguin, feeling an animal’s desire to connect with people is so pure, it makes people want to both care for them and protect them at the same time.

Ms. Erreguin got her start at Moorpark College’s teaching zoo where she got her Associate’s degree in exotic animal training and management. From there, she went on to work on several projects with veterinary teams at various facilities before working as a keeper at CuriOdyssey in 2018.

Without further ado, Claudia now shares her story.

1. What made you want to work with animals in the first place? I have always gravitated more towards animals than people, especially dogs. I feel that an animal's desire to connect is pure and that makes it so easy to want to care for them and protect them.

2. Have you done any volunteer and, or internship experiences during your high school and college years? During my time getting my Associates in Exotic Animal Training and Management, I had weeklong projects with the vet teams at Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, The Fresno Zoo, and the Wildlife Waystation. In high school, I helped out a bit at the local shelter.

3. What is your favorite animal to work with? I loved working with the Siamang at America's Teaching Zoo and gained a lifelong love for them. I also have a soft spot for Raccoons now that I have gotten to work with them more closely.

4. When did you land the position you have now? I started as a Vet Tech/Keeper at CuriOdyssey in December of 2018.

5. What is it like for you to be a person of color to be part of the zoological community? Have you faced any challenges along the way? Being Hispanic, I recognize that I am a minority in the field and I do believe that things like unpaid internships, low pay, cultural differences, etc are obstacles that POC endure when wanting to work in a zoo or to even have any interest in the field. I am a first-generation college student who was expected to graduate and have a high paying job that could support myself and my family. Instead, I am living almost paycheck to paycheck doing something I love, which is working with animals. Culturally, choosing this path received some backlash because it was seen as impractical and maybe even selfish, but my parents eventually understood and support my career choice.

6. Since your social media implies that you work with predatory animals, what do you hope people will get out of seeing the animals under your care? I hope they are amazed and inspired. Predatory animals can seem scary, but they also just want to survive and humans are making it hard for them. I hope people are inspired to take steps in helping animals thrive in their natural habitat.

7. Last question, any advice for kids and teens who are looking into the possibility of working with animals in a zoological setting? Don't be afraid to take chances. I had already graduated from college in a different field, but my dream to work in a zoo reemerged and I decided I was going to apply to the EATM program. I was shocked when I got in and didn't think I could make a move to Los Angeles to go back to school for a program where working is not recommended because of the heavy time commitment, but I made it all happen and I'm really glad I did. Also, stick to your passion and start taking steps toward whatever zoo goal you have by volunteering, reading/researching, and helping with conservation.

Thank you so much Claudia for sharing your story and I hope you can empower more kids of color to one day want to work with animals in zoological facilities.

If you are a person of color and a member of the zoo and aquarium profession who would like to have their story be shared, feel free to email me at [email protected].

interview
1

About the Creator

Jenna Deedy

Zoo and Aquarium Professional, Educator, Cosplayer, Writer and B.A. in Psychology whose got a lot to share when it comes to animals, zoos, aquariums, conservation, and more.

Instagram: @jennacostadeedy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.