Petlife logo

The Real Queens of Wakanda V: Birds of a Feather.

Aviary Keeper Nicolle Mierischi shares her story of how her childhood visits to the zoo inspired her to one day work with animals. This is another entry in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month.

By Jenna DeedyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nicolle caring for a pelican at Zoo Miami. Photo by Nicolle M.

Our Hispanic Heritage Month edition of The Real Queens of Wakanda continues with the story of Ms.Nicolle Mierischi. She is an aviary keeper at Zoo Miami where her primary focus involves providing care for the resident kiwi and waterfowl that call the facility home. She first started as a volunteer before she eventually made her way to the top as a level 2 keeper this past July. Two months later, she opens up about her experience working at Zoo Miami and how she got to where she is today.

Here's Nicolle's story.

1. What made you want to work with animals in the first place?

I’m not sure. I grew up going to the zoo a lot (my family became zoo members the moment it became a thing). I also spent most of my childhood outside in my yard and when I was indoors, I watched animal shows and documentaries. In my senior year of high school, I wasn’t sure what I was going to do until a friend of mine pointed out how I would always talk about animals and environmental issues. My first day volunteering at a zoo (2nd semester of college) I knew I wanted to do that for the rest of my life.

2. Have you done any volunteer and, or internship experiences during your high school and college years?

I volunteered and interned at my local zoo and later at a wildlife rehab center during and after my getting my bachelor's.

3. What is your favorite animal to work with?

Currently, I would say it’s a toss between a North Island Brown Kiwi and waterfowl. I love working with waterfowl.

4. When did you land the position you have now?

A few months ago. Although to be more specific, I started as a part-timer two years ago (in 2018) and a year later became a keeper 1, and just now in July, I was promoted to a keeper 2.

5. What is it like for you to be a person of color to be part of the zoological community? Have you faced any challenges along the way?

It’s very eye-opening. The majority of zookeepers in our Animal Science department are white. There’s only about a handful of people that are POC. And so much of that I think comes from opportunities and culture; I had a family member saying I was wasting my time and that I needed a “real job” which to them meant something that equaled a lot of money and I knew of several others in the Latinx culture that their family members wanted them to pursue a career that would make them money. I have not met any challenges along my career path in terms of being a POC.

6. Since your social media implies that you work with predatory animals, what do you hope people will get out of seeing animals under your care?

I hope they feel fascination and curiosity. I want them to go home and think about my animals and look up more information on them and I hope they feel inspired to be proactive about protecting our wildlife and natural environments.

7. Last question, any advice for kids and teens who are looking into the possibility of working with animals in a zoological setting?

To not give up! I know it can be hard as it looks like an interest in the zookeeping field has significantly increased and so of course that means the competition is up. But not giving up is such a huge part and always stay connected with the people you meet in the field. They have a lot of advice to offer. Just always keep an open mind and be ready to learn anything. That’s one of the best parts; constantly learning new things every day.

A big thanks to Nicolle for sharing her story about being a zookeeper at Zoo Miami and joining the ever-growing list of female zoo and aquarium professionals of color to have their voice be heard. My hope is that this article along with others, will help empower young girls to one day want to work with animals.

If you are a female zoo or aquarium professional of color and would like to have your story be shared with the world, feel free to DM on Facebook, or Instagram, or send me an email at [email protected].

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Deedy

Zoo and Aquarium Professional, Educator, Cosplayer, Writer and B.A. in Psychology whose got a lot to share when it comes to animals, zoos, aquariums, conservation, and more.

Instagram: @jennacostadeedy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.