Petlife logo

The Many Modes of My Art Studio Cat Assistants

Cat Modes Explained and Demonstrated by My Art Studio Cat Assistants

By Cameron HamptonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Idgy demonstrating the You Work Too Much/Time For a Break Mode

My art studio is small and well used. It is just a little converted bedroom with an open walk in closet in the back of my home. One floor to ceiling window looks out on a pocket of a wooded forest with a little lake that I can see through a pattern of oak and pine trees. Occasionally a turkey or small herd of deer will walk past my window. Out of this wooded forest is where all of my art studio cat assistants have come from. They all showed up meowing, hungry, thirsty, and sometimes pregnant and needing a trip to the vet.

It’s been just over twenty years since I’ve started adopting, or rather they’ve adopted me, my furry, purry art studio cat assistants. These are my forever home cats that are now a part of my family and my art studio work space. In that time, I’ve learned a lot about the many cat modes of my art studio cat assistants. This isn’t to be confused with cat moods. Cat moods are very different from cat modes.

The most prominent and persistent cat mode is the You Work Too Much/Time For a Break Mode. This is when my art studio cat assistants get up close and personal. They will sashay across my laptop keyboard, stamp their fuzzy paws on my drawing surface or begin to “play” with my pens and pencils to get my attention.

You Work Too Much/Time For a Break Mode demonstrated by Idgy

If I don’t immediately follow their advice, this is followed quickly by the Pretty Please Mode. There is usually vigorous begging, incessant meowing and big, slow eye blinking involved in this particular mode.

Pretty Please Mode demonstrated by Moussey Lucy

And if I’m too busy to stop work and I try to ignore them, they go into Perturbed Mode. This includes sitting in my line of sight accompanied with a penetrating stare and an ever so slightly turned ear. This is also known as the death stare look. All cat parents have seen it.

Perturbed Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

Inevitably, I give up trying to get any work done and do as they want. I might as well. Once I’ve been given the warning of the Perturbed Mode look, it’s in my best interest to do as they say.

My art studio cat assistants seem to be able to sense when I’m stressed and in need of a break. They can be wiser than me. Nearly every day we all go on our afternoon walk. This is known as the Safari Mode.

Safari Mode demonstrated by Monty, Mr. Chatterton and Moussey Lucy respectively

I love my art studio cat assistants. Other than keeping my art studio blissfully free of varmints, I live in a rural area full of mice, ‘possums, raccoons, field mice, rats, palmetto bugs, etc., they assist by modeling for me. This is called Modeling Mode. They are ardent models. They know their best angles and keep themselves perfectly coiffed by preening.

Preening Mode demonstrated by Scampi

Preening Mode is important for Modeling Mode. An art studio cat assistant should always look their best.

Modeling Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

All of my art studio cat assistants know their best angles. They can cruise into Know Your Best Angle Mode with udder ease. This seems to come naturally for them. I'm still learning this.

Know Your Best Angle Mode demonstrated by Aubrey

After a hard few moments of posing, Frisky Mode is in order.

Frisky Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

Frisky Mode usually leads to Play Mode.

Play Mode demonstrated by Monty

After a good amount of Play Mode, it's time for Catnap Mode.

Catnap Mode demonstrated by Scampi and Skimper respectively

This is not to be confused with REM Sleep Mode. REM Sleep Mode is a deep kitty sleep. A time when all the modes gather together to create vivid kitty dreams. Dreams so real, paws will shake and whiskers might twitch.

REM Sleep Mode demonstrated by Idgy and Monty respectively

My art studio cat assistants have taught me to stop planning too much. I’ve learned from them to let go and enjoy the moment. Be in the moment.

Be In the Moment Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

Unlike humans, my art studio cat assistants don’t judge me, talk too much or tell me I’m going about it all wrong. They like to be in Hang Out Mode a lot when they’re in my art studio. This is how they give me moral support. A cat rendition of they’ve got my back.

Hang Out Mode demonstrated by Skimper and Scampi respectively

Hang Out Mode is also a bit like the screen saver mode on a laptop. Not sleeping or catnapping, just resting in between modes.

I’ve learned from them to keep being curious. Try new things. Investigate. Let myself wander and wonder. Go on adventures!

Curious Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

Then there’s Love Mode. No explanation needed.

Love Mode demonstrated by Scampi

My art studio cat assistants have shown me that I should allow myself to be in Intense Mode and to not apologize for it.

Intense Mode demonstrated by Mr. Chatterton

A couple of my cats are twenty years old. They will still try to learn how to play with a new toy or figure out a way to climb a new fence or fallen tree. It Is Never Too Late to Learn Mode is fun for me to watch. I love their enthusiasm!i

It Is Never Too Late to Learn Mode demonstrated by Aubrey

And lastly, when it’s time for them to part from this life, they’ve taught me not to be too sad and to always be in Keep Moving Forward Mode.

Keep Moving Forward Mode demonstrated by Mary Shelley RIP

Because my art studio cat assistants have taught me about their different modes and to live fully in all of those modes, the journey is always good. ∞

cat
1

About the Creator

Cameron Hampton

Cameron Hampton is a painter, photographer, illustrator, cinematographer, animator and writer.​

She now works in Georgia, London and NYC.

https://artistcameronhampton.wixsite.com/cameronhampton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.