Petlife logo

The love of my life

and it's NOT a human

By Gail S.Published 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

This is my dog Buddha, we call him Mr. Boo. He is a Japanese Chin and he is my best friend. Unlike most humans who can be so cruel to each other and so hurtful at times, he is the best thing in my life. He never judges me and would never say hurtful things. He never raises his voice to me and is always there when I need him. He never turns his back on me or speaks ill of me. His love is unconditional. He enjoys a good belly rub which he gets plenty of. He may not be a snuggler but knows when I am sad and will stay close. He is loyal to a fault. Even on the days when I can’t cope and I tend to ignore him, he comes around and tries to brighten my day. He likes his snacks which he gets maybe too often. He’s always up for a movie night with snacks.

He is by far the most loving being I have ever had in my life. He sometimes is my venting pal. He listens intently and doesn’t interrupt. Even though the story may be one he has heard a dozen times, he still remains silent. He is a very good listener. Humans are always looking to “fix” your issues, he is just content to be there. I never have to worry about impressing him and when I feel ugly he still loves me. I don’t have to spend tons of money trying to be pretty because he makes me feel beautiful every day. He doesn’t give kisses but that's fine, I kiss him instead.

He is an “old man” of 12 ½ and sometimes has more life in him than I have myself. He sleeps a lot but then again so do I. He is a constant companion and I love sharing my life with him. He has seen me at my absolute worse and yet has still been by my side. He has seen my accomplishments and my failures and remains steadfast by my side. He is the last thing I see each night before bed and the first thing I see almost every morning as I start my day.

I often look at him and wonder what he is thinking. Does he truly understand me and all that goes on around him? Does he know how much I love him and need him? Does he realize how absolutely crushed I will be when he is gone? He is irreplaceable. There will never be another one like him. He can see me naked and not laugh. He doesn’t care what I weigh or that sometimes I feel very ugly. He is a little overweight but then again so am I. He has a beautiful soul, an old soul I believe. His origins are from Japan and his breed was the preferred dog of royalty. He is my preferred being too.

I don’t like to refer to him as my “pet” but more my furry friend. I don’t like saying I am his owner but more like I am his human. He is my comfort and my strength. My best friend and my secret keeper. He is the best boy. My crying towel and the face that makes me laugh. Some Days… he is the only thing that makes sense. He gives me such a warmth in my heart and such comfort to my soul. If I were told tomorrow that I could have no more contact with people I would be just fine with Mr. Boo.

He’s not much of a conversationalist but I still hear him when he does “speak.” I love him sometimes more than I love myself and I can’t imagine my life without his smiling face. Every day is precious because he is in it. He is my happy place when this world and it’s people really suck. When this world is crazy and it makes no sense and it is all falling apart, it doesn’t bother him, he doesn’t even notice. He is happy just being himself and living his best life. How much easier our lives would be if we could be like that! I took him from an 8 week old baby to adulthood and he has taken me from broken to complete. Always my baby and always in my heart. The love of my life AND my best friend.

Sadly at the ripe old age of almost 15, Mr. Boo died on Sept 6th 2022. He was a faithful friend and companion and will be sadly missed always.

Much Love G.

dog
2

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.