Petlife logo

The Day When an Abandoned Dog Saved My Life

I felt like I was gonna die because these stray dogs had bitten lots of people in our city

By Sahir FaridPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is a real story. This incident happened to me almost 19 years ago when I was a teenager. I live in a small city in India where we have hundreds of abandoned dogs roaming over the streets. If you don't already know let me tell you that most of the Asian countries have hundreds and thousands of dogs' population and over 70% of them are stray or abandoned dogs. Lately, several non-profit organizations started working for the betterment of street dogs and the numbers are now reducing.

Let's move to this story now.

In Indian culture, there is a huge misconception about dogs is that every dog comes with a single purpose, that is to byte whoever they see. Unfortunately, I had the same point of view due to which I used to keep a distance from every single dog.

One day while going to work, I noticed a stray dog that (He was a Labrador Retriever and I named him Bruno) looked very fine and clean. Bruno was roaming right in our street and I assume he was abandoned recently by his owner. He tried to come towards me but ignored him. This happened many times and unintentionally an invisible bond developed between me and Bruno. I started sharing some food from my daily meals and snacks.

One day I realized that Bruno used to sleep under the sky wherever he found a place, so I constructed small living space for him close to my house.

The Night When Bruno Saved Me

It was a chilling-cold night in late December when I was coming back from work. We had extra shifts as the year was ending and we had to close the accounts. It was around 12 midnight and I entered my street. As soon as entered the street, a pack of stray dogs was laying down and the moment they saw me they started barking.

They were moving towards me gradually and I felt like I was gonna die because these stray dogs had bitten lots of people in our city.

Then I saw an imaginable view that Bruno was coming towards me. He was running like a Cheetah and as he came closer to me and the pack of dogs, he started barking loudly at those dogs. It looked like he was asking those dogs not to come close to me. Bruno used to bark at the dogs first and then at me as he was giving me the signal to follow him. Luckily, I was able to reach my home safely.

The only thing I remember is I was crying and shivering, and I hugged Bruno. It was the hug of love and appreciation, and my first-ever close interaction with a dog.

The picture changed after that night. I moved Bruno to my home and he had a dedicated room. He spent the rest of his life in my home. He used to think that I have saved his life but it was vice versa. Back from the office, he used to welcome me with a wagging tail. We shared lots of unforgettable moments and memories. He changed my perception about dogs and now I have 2 more dogs, Zozo and Sugar. Bruno crossed the rainbow bridge after spending 8 years of his life with me and his place will never be filled.

Final Thoughts:

Dogs are lovely. Humans make them dangerous. I strongly believe every single dog in this world needs to be cared for and loved. Also, instead of getting a dog from a pet shop, try to adopt from the shelters or rescue from the street. You can find more such stories from my friends at The Dogs Journal.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.