Petlife logo

The Curious Arturious Rex Aurelias

An "Oopsie" they said you were, something never meant to be. An accidental cross between a Pomeranian and Daschund. But the vet said there was more "oopsie" still, because you were most certainly a Corgi. To me, you were PERFECT!

By Pam ReederPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Arturious Rex Aurelias, but you can call him Rex. (Photo taken in 2019)

Hey my little man, look at you all grown old. Seems like only yesterday you were the tiny odd ball in your litter that I latched onto immediately. I gave you a name bigger than yourself, Arturius Rex Aurelius but I called you Rex. You have been my King for fourteen years now.

You were so tiny when I got you that a VHS tape would hide you. Yes, we still had those 14 years ago when you were born. They were phasing out for DVD discs. We had only a few of those new fangled thingamabobs but a whole bookcase of VHS when you arrived. We built a little corral for you using some of them. Funny how the first few days you didn't realize you could push them over. The first time was actually an accident when you plopped over for a nap. After that you ran the borders over so there was no point in trying to corral you any more.

The cats didn't know what to make of you. You on the other hand just considered them family. Other than me, they were all you knew. In fact, you adapted so well to the cat clan, you didn't even know that you were a dog and not a cat. It was very comical watching you tilt your head away and take that short little leg of yours and try to bat the cats the way they batted you. And you never barked, which was a huge plus when we moved to New Orleans and lived in a townhouse on the military base.

You had a really big job that you handled quite well. See, my life was taking a very stressful turn when you arrived. My daughter was hitting her teens and starting an independent life. It's one of those things that happens as they learn to test their wings heading towards adulthood. A lot of turbulence and parent/teen angst. We survived it, but we had to get through it. And that landed right on top of my husband getting recalled to active duty with the Marine Corps. This put me in isolation for three years. With everyone in my household basically gone, I had a lot of lonely time on my hands. On twenty acres in the middle of nowhere. That's where you stepped in and stepped up.

You became my little shadow following my every move through the house as I cleaned, or cooked. Or sat and cried. Fleeting calls from my husband had to sustain our two year old marriage for the next three years. I slept in a bed for two with only me to fill it. And then there was you.

My snuggle buddy Rex. (Photo taken in August, 2021)

You readily claimed the other side of the bed next to me, complete with resting your head on the other pillow. It was nice feeling your warmth against my back or hearing your little snores. It made that time of my life more bearable.

When I needed to walk, you walked with me. When I needed to talk, you listened to me. When I needed comfort, you sat with me or laid with me.

I'll never forget the day Gunny was in Iraq helping his Colonel in a transition of turning a base over to the Iraqi Army. Because of his situation, Gunny had a satellite phone and was able to call me fairly regular. It was Fourth of July and I was spending it alone, opting not to make the drive to other family nearly 50 miles away. When my cell went off and I saw the satellite number, I was ecstatic. It was the highlight of my day. You were excited because I was excited. But when I answered the phone, a gentleman began to speak rapidly in a foreign tongue. Not comprehending how this could be, terror began to sink into me. Sensing my upset, you ran to my side. I frantically demanded to speak with my husband. Since I didn't understand the language being spoken to me, I had no idea if this person could understand me. Suddenly, the line went quiet. My heart was beating so hard I could hear the blood in my temples. I heard lots of rustling of the phone and muffled voices, then someone came on the phone that spoke English. I demanded to speak with my husband. The voice said, "Sure thing, ma'am."

As I stood trembling, you, dear Rex, stood at the ready for whatever I might need. I'm not sure what you thought your twelve pound self could do for me, but it was endearing to know that you were at the ready. Thankfully, my husband popped on the line. "Sweetie, it's me. I'm fine. Everything is good. I can't talk though, ok? I have to clear this line. I can't explain. I love you. Bye Bye."

"Ok." Was the only response I was able to give and then he was gone. I collapsed crying with a rollercoaster of emotions pulsing through me. Fear, relief, sadness, washed over me. You snuggled me, licked me. Nudged me. Then you settled in tucked tight against my leg. If I moved even a little, you were alert. That was quite a day, and I was so glad I had you there with me. I had no one else to share that terrifying moment with.

Many years later, I learned that an Iraqi General was using my husband's satellite phone to call for an Iraqi helicopter to come get them. I've not been given more details than that and likely never will. However, my husband did make it through that tour in Iraq. He was slightly changed when he came home but we've been ok.

Through all of life's changes for me, Rex, you have been there. You became an accidental therapy dog. You weren't intended for that, have never been trained for that, and never been legally labeled that. But you have served me fully in that capacity. When work was bad, you cheered me up. When hubby was stationed away from home, you looked after me. When daughter spun up into her own life and I was alone in our home, you, Rex were right there to fill the void.

Now, we've had nearly 15 years together. You have been quite the EmPAWyee, if being my faithful companion counts as service. You spent your youth taking care of me and now that your health is failing, I am taking care of you in your golden years. You are my buddy forever and always. When you transition from this world (because terming it any other way is just too hard), I will be lost without you. I have never had a dog that knew me like you do. That could read my moods and know what I needed. (Don't tell Gunny, but I think if you had been a man, I might have left Gunny to marry you. LOL I'm just kidding.)

I love you Rex with all my heart!

Rex the daschund/corgi mix. (Photo taken 8 years ago -- about half his life ago.)

**********************************

Me a couple of years ago on my Silver Sass Sisterhood show. Rex was by my side out of frame.

I always try to share a different photo of me at the end of my stories so that if you read my stuff often (fingers crossed) you'll get to see the many different facets of me.

If you're wondering just who exactly wrote this piece, you can find more about me here. If you're intrigued to see what else I've written, more stories by me can be found here.

On the off chance you appreciated this piece, a heart would be appreciated. It is inspiration to keep moving forward on this writing journey. There is also a tipping option for those who may want to part ways with their hard earned money and for some odd reason impart it to me.

If you enjoyed this story, leave me a heart. (Photo from Word Swag App for Android)

More stories by me:

dog
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.