Petlife logo

The cat came back but she wont stay

A tale of a neighborhood kitty who has chosen me sort of

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Stray cats come to my house

In October 2021 a huge light gray cat began coming to my house and I began feeding him. The neighborhood kids called him Kitty Lo. and we thought they were calling him Kelo. We put a cat bed on the front porch and provided him with food and water and Kitty Lo showed his appreciation. He rubbed against our legs anad in our laps when we were in the vehicle and we planned on taking him to the vet. Instead of remaining with us Kitty Lo would disappear for two or three days at a time and then after feeding him on New Year's Day we never saw him again.

A few weeks back I began seeing two multicolored kitties in the alley in the back of my house. They ran when they saw me but would eat the food I left outside in a bowl. My indoor cat Boots is finicky and when he doesn’t eat all of his food I give it to the neighborhood cats. One of them came closer one day and it’s the cat you see in the picture. He meowed at my granddaughter so she put food on the porch and he ate it.

The stray is a bit more friendly

He began butting his head on us and the porch furniture and ran up to each of us brushing against our legs as if to say thank you. My granddaughter named the cat Honey and told me she was a girl. I set out a bowl of water and put fresh food in the dish the next morning and Honey came back. She ate then rolled around on the porch the way Kitty Lo used to do. Yesterday I did not see Honey at all and wondered why like Kitty Lo he disappaeared.

It seems like stray cats can’t completely accept domestication and enjoy their freedom. Why go back to the alleys and strive for your food and brave the elements if you have a warm cat bed and good food? I know it’s their nature because I had lots of cats when I lived in the county as a teen. They cried at the door when they were hungry but did not stick around.This morning Honey showed up purring rubbling against me and ate the food and drank the water. She returned this evening as well and the kids song The Cat Came Back (the very next day day-he just could not stay away) was stuck in my head.

Honey might stick around

I've decided not to get too attached to Honey although I enjoy her comign around. She first began running away then coming a bit closer and eating when I walked away. Now she feels safe enough tostay on the porch and eat while I watch. I have to be careful becauseherclaws are long and she probably has not had any shots. I will leave food and water out for Honey and otherstray kitties but pray it does not attrack animals that I don't want on the property.

I noticed that like Kitty Lo, Honey is a nice sized cat but her sides look lumpy and feel a bit hard where Boots is smooth and even all over. I guess it's part of living the outdoor predetor life. I will take it one day at a time or rather every few days at a time and see how long Honey sticks around. Now if only I can get The Cat Came Back out of my head I will be alright. If you clicked on the link you might be singing the song as well.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.