Petlife logo

Merry Christmas 2022 from Boots

My kitty loves Christmas

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Boots under the tree

Boots is enjoying the Christmas season

Boots my Tabby loves s almost 3 and he loves Christmas. He had watched me decorate with wide-eyed wonder and only chased one bulb that fell. He has sniffed the tree for several days and this afternoon he must have decided it was safe because he decided to lay under it. This year I opted for a 4-foot tree instead of the usual large one. It’s sitting on top of a table and Boots decided to jump on it and lay underneath the tree. He seemed fascinated with the blinking lights and pawed at one of them then settled down for about 40 minutes.

I moved about a year ago and Boots did not come near me for a week because I transported him in the kitty carrier. He did not seem to like change and would curiously inspect every bag or package that was brought into the house. It took him several days before he would go near his new cat tower but he investigate wrapping paper and anything I have brought home that is related to Christmas.

Boots is having a silent night

A cat is a cat is a cat is a cat

I am happy that Boots is comfortable with the tree and blinking lights and I don't think he will bother any packages we place underneath. He seems to be marking his territory and is now more comfortable in additional rooms in the house. He even cries at the basement door when he wants to go down and explore by himself. Boots has been a comfort since the death of my husband and although a cat cannot replace a human he is good company.

I had a cat as a teenager who attacked the Christmas tree and knocked down the ornaments and played with them. I have heard other people say their cats destroyed their trees. Boots seems to take it all in stride and accept Christmas as a part of the equation. I thought the blinking lights might frighten him but he really did not pay much attention.

As I add decorations to the living room and presents underneath the tree Boots sniffs them and then goes about his business. I don't know what type of life Boots had before he became part of our family but he has adapted well to being spoiled. I watch cats run around the neighborhood who don't have a warm home and I hurt for them as I watch Boots in his cat tower happily enjoying the good life.

Boots cat napping

Boots the unpredictable feline

This afternoon Boots attacked the Christmas tree. I guess it was too good to be true that he did not. He jumped under it and I noticed the tree rocking and he was pawing at the lights. It only lasted a few moments and when I called his name he went to the cat tower and is still there. Night has begun to fall and Boots is sleeping on level 3 of his cat tower. The lights from the Christmas tree are twinkling and it feels like Christmas.

My youngest son even commented that the decor and the kitty gave the room that holiday feeling. I know the peace won’t last but while it does I’ll enjoy it. Cats can be so unpredictable and many people don’t like them. Boots is finicky and does not care for people outside the immediate family . He sniffs them then walks away. He sits on our laps or our chests when we are in bed and snuggles next to us when we are on the couch. He really enjoys when the grandkids sleep over. He is at times uncooperative but he is ours and we love him. Merry Christmas from Boots and the extended Preston family.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.