Petlife logo

Talking About Cats (Sometimes They Hunt Me, Sometimes The Run From Me)

More Adventures In Cat Photography In Fenham

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
7
A Cat Emperor

Introduction

I have written a lot about cats, but really I know nothing about them, and as I don’t keep cats I don’t really need to know that much about them. The two things that put me off are my inherent selfishness and the fact that maintaining the health of your pet is so expensive these days with vet and insurance costs, but it is mainly the former that stops me.

One That Ran Away

The Cats That Run Away

I take pictures and videos of cats with my Google Pixel 4XL but sometimes I will see them a distance away and wonder if they will stay and pose or if they will run off. This morning two cats, I saw at a distance decided that they were not going to stay round to let me photograph them more closely, but I did get a couple of distance photographs before they took their leave.

This happens quite often but the zoom on my phone is not too good for distance shots, but I am surprised how some come out a lot more detailed than I would expect from a phone camera.

This is just part of the challenge and the whole thing really does help me keep reasonably fit as well as keeping my mind sharp wondering if there is a way to get these cats to stay in shot so that I can get a picture of them.

Inscrutable

The Cats That Can’t Be Bothered

A lot of cats just almost can’t be bothered to move. They will sit there and be photographed but sometimes cannot be bothered to even acknowledge that I am round. I don’t scare them or bother them and that shows so much, as they just stay put.

When they are like this it generally makes them easier to take pictures of, although of course there is no video as they do not move or make a sound, if I am lucky they just observe me inscrutably like they are some kind of cat emperor and I am just some plebian who they wish to stop disturbing their idle moment of splendour.

On The Prowl

The Cats That Hunt Me

A lot of the time cats actually chase me, miaowing and possibly looking for cat treats or cat food or any food. Sometimes they want me to stroke them or decide to rub against my feet and legs, almost like they are my pet or I am theirs.

The strange thing is that sometimes the ones that actually hunt and follow me also decide on some days to run away from me, so I never know what kind of mood the felines are going to be in. They can be incredibly contrary at times.

TBL May Be Two Cats

Today a cat I can guarantee to see on a daily basis turned out to be two almost identical cats as they were miaowing at each other as I walked past. I wasn’t sure if this was going to be a cat fight or if they were getting friendly, but I am not sure whether they are male or female but I will share my Instagram post of them below and maybe you can decide.

Conclusion on My Cat Photography

This will definitely not be my last word on my dealings with these feline creatures and if you check out my writing on Vocal’s Petlife Community then you can get some idea of those I meet and what they are like but I will leave you with my Top Story on the subject

catsocial media
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Lol, these cats are either bipolar or have multiple personality disorder 🤣 Can't say that about my cat. He was depressed most of the time, like me 😅 I had fun reading this!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding stories and keeping up with the cats provide outstanding exercise. Well done!!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Interesting read for sure. Cats do have a fickle personality , sometimes like a woman per say. Do you carry treats ,when you go on your walks. You will be the Peter piper of cats instead of rats . Sorry my humor got the best of me. 🤭

  • Having kept cats for over 30 years, I think “incredibly contrary” is a great way to describe them! I love seeing the photos you take of your neighborhood felines.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Love your photo Hobby! And you capture great pictures, fancy equipment or not. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.