Petlife logo

Subscription Dog Food: A Life Hack For Busy Pet Owners

Thanks to Ollie, buying dog food is never on my to-do list!

By Tay L. Published about a year ago 4 min read

Supported byOllie

Working as a corporate lawyer and content creator in NYC means my to-do list is always full. Between meetings, emails, PR events, content shoots, and the all-important dog park visits, there's not a single moment to spare. Let's just say I have no other option but to be a time-management wizard.

My favorite and most important occupation is being a dog mom to my stay-at-home pup, Gus. Like his mom, Gus enjoys living his best life, and that’s a luxurious one! Nothing turns my mood around like some retail therapy, and my favorite kind is when I'm shopping for him. This is pretty apparent from his overflowing collection of toys in my living room. It truly brings me joy to bring home something I know Gus will love (hello Ollie dog food!). No one else can immediately put me in a better mood after a tough day at work like Gus, so it’s a treat to be able to return the favor.

When I’m not stuck in meetings or filming content, Gus and I love taking walks through the city, trying out new dog-friendly brunch spots, and treating ourselves to a well-deserved coffee date. Gus loves himself a good puppuccino! Like most dogs, he really only wants to eat human food. For the past year, my husband and I have been working remotely so we’ve been able to prepare Gus’ meals from scratch. Unfortunately, now that we’ve had to return to the office, we simply don’t have the time. (Is anyone else in favor of dog-friendly offices?) Our main priority was to maintain a consistent routine for Gus when we transitioned back into going to the office so he could continue to eat the foods he loves. That’s why when I was introduced to Ollie, I was excited to find a solution that works with our hectic schedules.

Convenience

When I first signed up for Ollie, I was impressed by their thoroughness and their dedication to seeing each dog as an individual. I took a quiz that asked me detailed questions such as Gus’ size, weight, his level of activity, and any allergies he might have. After providing Ollie with Gus’ info, they recommended different recipes and the correct daily portions to make ordering the right meals that much easier. It seriously doesn’t get any simpler.

Living in New York means that my husband and I have plenty of options for food delivery, especially with our crazy schedules. And now, thanks to Ollie, even Gus is able to get his food fix without us ever having to leave our apartment. Ollie has made our lives so much easier with their stress-free delivery. The deliveries are super flexible, so even if I’m at work, at an event, (or on a zoom call sshhh!) I’m able to easily adjust our order schedule on my laptop or phone. Ollie’s free delivery arrives weekly, so I never have to worry about making a last minute trip to the store.

Since I’m able to work from home a few days a week, Ollie’s Half Fresh Plan has been the best option for us. This is because it contains 50% of Gus’ recommended daily calories that I can add to his current meals. What’s even better is that I can manage this all on the go - from Ollie’s mobile app! It takes the hassle out of mealtime prep and I feel great knowing that Gus is getting the nutrients he needs. I can even put any leftover meals in the fridge for later. The cherry on top? A subscription to Ollie is super valuable in the long run since we can choose the right amount of food that’s specific to Gus. If I haven’t said it enough, Gus and I love luxury, but we love it even more when it’s at the right price.

Health Benefits

As a dog mom, I try to make Gus’ meals as nutritious and well-balanced as possible. However, it can be hard to always know if I’m feeding him the best food for his health. Another thing I love about Ollie is knowing that each meal is specifically suited to Gus’ needs. Since Ollie works with veterinary nutritionists to formulate their recipes, I never have to worry about making the right decisions during mealtime. On top of that, Ollie uses quality ingredients that you could even find in your kitchen, like chicken, turkey, carrots, rice, fruits—the list goes on. Because Ollie's foods are minimally processed, Gus won’t miss out on any of the essential nutrients he needs to keep him a happy and healthy boy. Ollie’s food is made in North American kitchens with carefully sourced ingredients from trusted growers and producers around the world. In fact, Gus loves flavor so much that I think he thinks he’s eating human food—and honestly, he’s not far off. Gus’ favorite meal is definitely the chicken dish with rice and carrots. It includes whole vegetables like spinach as well as peas, so Gus is getting extra vitamins, antioxidants, and even omega-3s in his diet. We love adding some blueberries and greens to make it even more exciting for him. I’m not kidding when I say I think this dog eats better than me!

Gus’ Review

Ever since we’ve started incorporating Ollie's Fresh recipes to Gus’ mealtime, I can tell that he’s been enjoying his food even more than before. Every time I prepare his meals, he follows me around the kitchen and can’t stop wagging his tail from excitement. He can’t even wait until I’ve put his food bowl on the floor before he starts digging in.

Our Takeaway

Ollie has truly taken away the stress and inconvenience of keeping Gus a healthy boy. He loves the taste, and I love how it fits so naturally into our day-to-day. Now that I have one less thing to worry about, I have much more time to focus on my goals and plan for the future so I can continue to give Gus the best of the best.

About the Creator

Tay L.

NYC dog mom, content creator.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tay L. Written by Tay L.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.