Petlife logo

Stray Cat

My stray cat.

By SaraPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My stray cat

Here's my stray cat. Isn't he cute? He is cute but he can be ferocious too when you try to make it do something it doesn't want to. I've gotten many scratches and bites from it so I've learnt to back off a bit. This stray cat has been hanging around outside my home for a long while already, at least for a year. But, I have never fed it any good food as that thought has never crossed my mind to do that. But I would occasionally put the remains of a fish for it out to eat and those are often gone. But, I did that only whenever I am having fish to eat myself, so like maybe just once every few days... And that was the closest I have gotten to it. It would hang around outside in my yard often and stares at me from a distance which you can see in this photography I have of him. I still don't quite understand why it was showing up often before looking at me from a distance. Ever since I started feeding it proper pet food, I don't see it around much at all, which I don't understand why.

It was just about a month ago that I started to entice it to come closer with the pet food in my hand. I've never tried that before and I've always just watched it from a distance just like it did with me. I actually like that kind of relationship and prefer that. But, that may not be good for the cat because someone from the Humane Society told me that outdoor cats' lifespans are shorter than indoor cats and can last for just 2 years! It also started to get lesions on its front paw and I saw drops that looked like blood stains on the ground outside. I'm not sure how it got that and I still don't know. I got really concerned about it and was waiting for it to show up and catch it. But, it didn't show up for a few days. Then, I saw it the other day and quickly went over to get it. It would meow at me when it sees me and it lets me pet it and carry it too, ever since it has been enticed with my pet food for it.

Yeah, Before, it would be in a distance looking at me, just like I looked at it.

It doesn't like to be in a cage and it will keep trying to get out if it's in there. It was able to get out of a cage and the collar I put on it. It wouldn't walk on a leash. Whenever you try to lead it with a leash, it will just crouch and lie down. It doesn't like to be tied to a pole either. It is also not litter trained. I don't know how to litter train it. I thought of taking it to a vet myself to get it checked out and do diagnostic testings on it, but the total costs of that would be in the hundreds at least. I also don't have insurance for it, so if it is diagnosed to have major issues, that can cost a lot. Most pet insurance also doesn't cover pre-existing conditions, which is bad and something they should change! So, because of all these, I decided to have the Humane Society to come and pick it up. The Humane Society here has a service where they can pick up injured or sick animals for free 7 days a week and take them to their hospital to get treated. I thought that is very good, so they came to pick it up today..

I can call them to find out its status tomorrow, like if it has a microchip, etc... which is great. I wonder what kind of illness it has. There was red stuff in its stool and its stool wasn't solid, which I learnt that it could be sick. So, I had them come and pick it up.

I will call them to find out its status tomorrow and will write about that here too which you can check back. It's in good hands now, which is good. Want to thank all the donors to the Humane Society who make all these possible. If you have extra money, donate to them and places that could really use them! You are helping to save these animals' lives!

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Sara

Check out also http://beacons.ai/bizshop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.