Petlife logo

So You Want To Own A Corgi Huh?

10 things you should know before you bring your fluff ball home.

By Kayla LindleyPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Sir Morty (IV) Is his name on his AKC Certificate.

Eventually I knew if I ever got a Corgi, I would totally at some point spam the internet with his amazing good looks. Truthfully Morty has changed my life in a lot of ways that I don't think the average person would ever truly understand. In my previous blog post I mentioned being diagnosed with Bipolar Type II, and my struggles with mental health in general. So eventually I made it my goal to get a dog that would fit my "forever home" narrative.

Unfortunately for us, it seemed like we went through multiple dogs. We went through 3 or 4 shelter dogs, and just kind of gave up. I really had this desire to save a dog rather than go through a breeder because of the stigma that's associated with pure bred dogs. However, they ended up having a lot of emotional issues, were very destructive, not good with kids or all 3 combined, and so I put my search on hold for my furry friend.

Then in 2018, there was a point in my marriage with my ex where things were at an all time high and had gotten pretty bad. So bad that he bribed to stay with getting me a Corgi. (No it didn't fix anything, and our marriage is long done) but having gotten the Corgi was literally one of the best things that has ever happened to me. Now I know what you're probably thinking right now, why would you get a dog if your marriage is tanking? Oddly enough he knew I was trying to get an ESA (Emotional Support Animal) for my PTSD, but couldn't find a place that had any trained already or the waitlist was forever in a day long.

That being said, let's jump into my top 10 things you should consider before owning a Corgi:

#1 Therapy dog, ESA, or Regular Pet?

Corgis make amazing ESA or just therapy dogs in general. ESAs are known to help lower blood pressure, and calm people who have severe mental health issues. Corgi's are high energy dogs that require exercise on the regular which forces me to get out of bed in the morning and keep a consistent routine with getting fresh air and getting a walk in on a daily basis. However that being said, Corgi's do get bored EXTREMELY EASY. So you have to stimulate them with special toys, or consistently take them out on longer walks. If you don't they tend to get destructive, my bank account can attest to how many pairs of replacement shoes I had to buy in the beginning.

#2 They shed enough to make a "Locks of Love" Donation for dogs who are going through hair loss.

Do you or someone you love have allergies? I would highly not recommend Corgis especially if you have an allergy to dogs. Corgis shed a TON. And if you don't clean on a regular basis it can be overwhelming with the amount of fur and dander everywhere. I bought 2 air purifiers, and installed them in the rooms where Morty and I tend to be in the most frequently to help with this issue. Also you need to vaccum more often too. I bought a Dyson to help with getting dog hair up, and let me tell you I have gotten my money's worth. I also usually have a decent amount of dog hair on my clothes too. It's every where. My car also has a ton of hair where he sits in the back with my kids. So just know you will never be dog hair free.

#3 Money

Corgis can be extremely pricey based off of demand and where you live. Corgis have gained popularity over the last several years. They can vary in price also based off the type of Corgi you get. There are 2 types of Corgi. Morty is a Pembroke-Welsh Corgi, and the breeder I got him from charged me $850 for him. I got a discount for being a veteran, and for my plan of training him to officially be considered an ESA. But in different parts of the country, I have seen them go for an upward amount of $2k. So consider budgeting for your Corgi a year or so out, because I don't honestly know alot of people who have that kind of money laying around.

#4 Find a reputable breeder

I have read the horror stories online where people pay for a Corgi to be shipped overnight, only to have a box of bricks sent to their house and they get scammed for thousands of dollars. So do your research ahead of time, many of the accredited breeders have certifications from the American Kennel Club. You can check their website too to get local breeder information. Also if you are looking to rescue a Corgi, you can check your local Corgi rescue. There are several throughout the United States whos sole purpose is to ensure that Corgi's don't end up at the kill animal shelters.

#5 Vet Stuff

This is something most people don't think of, but it's a long term commitment once you bring your Corgi home. Dog's need good preventative care. That includes annual check ups, dental care, and more. I knew that if I was going to get a Corgi, I was going to make the committment to get him on a wellness insurance plan through Banfield Pet Hospital (which is PetSmart), you obviously don't have to do this, but it significantly cuts the cost down monthly for services when they are done, and I never have a copay when I go to the vet. Truthfully, because Corgis are pure bred, this can also lead to several genetic issues long term health wise such as hip dysplasia, so having a good vet to help navigate you through this is definitely helpful.

#6 Food and Supplements

You want to committ to making sure your Corgi is taken care of long term by feeding your dog on a good diet and supplements. I look at Morty as if he is one of my kids (and truthfully he is- it's like having 3 kids under 5) and so you want to make sure you are providing a good quality diet. Because Corgis are prone to certain medical issues, feeding your dog the right kind of food long term is critical. Supplements are important for the joints and hips, so I look for items like that. For food recommendations we feed Morty Dr. Hill's Science Diet. This also helps manage his weight. Corgis due to their body structure, it's not recommended they be over 20lbs. This can cause alot of medical issues long term for this breed or speed up the process of any genetic issues that may occur during its life span.

#7 A well behaved dog is the best kind of dog.

Corgis are EXTREMELY intelligent dogs. They make wonderful family dogs, however an investment I would look into is getting your dog trained at a young age. Pet Smart has wonderful programs, that help get the generic behaviors down. Corgis have a lot of energy and it needs to be channeled. Morty had difficulty with walking on a leash and chewing on things. However even though he is almost 2 years old, we have decided to put him in training courses. Just to get basics down and allow him to behave around other dogs and people. He truly thinks every one wants to pet him, and every dog wants to play in public, and that's just not the case. So check your local instructors and see what your options are.

#8 Corgis are amazing with kids, but at times can nip.

If you are looking to start a family, or have kids already, Corgis are amazing to add to your home! I got Morty when he was 10 weeks old, and looked like a little potato. Both of my boys have autism and can be very rough at times, but Morty has never once bit my kids and is infact very fun and playful. The reason I bring up nipping, is because this is common for their breed because they are natural hearding dogs. Farmers breed these dogs for hearding cattle typically. And so if your Corgi gets excited to go out or is playfully hearding your kiddos up. Just recognize this is a behavior that is normal and playful. It shouldn't be something that's angry or done out of defense. That's a totally separate issue all together, and may need a trip to the vet if things are getting out of hand.

#9 Corgis are loyal and may have separation anxiety.

I don't work. Truthfully I am fully disabled through the VA, so I am home most of the time. That being said, if I leave and cannot take Morty with me he will sit at the window and wait until I come home. He doesn't do well with being alone. The dog is faithful to a tee, he sleeps in my bed. He will sit in the bathroom and watch me pee or wait until I am done showering. In the morning, he will not go out to go to the bathroom unless I am out of bed. (Trust me my ex tried to let him out multiple times and Morty would give him this look, 'I don't go unless she goes' so he stopped trying after so long). He even sits at my feet regardless of where I am at in the house. Currently he's even at my feet as I am writing this blog. So I bring this point up, because Corgis require alot of love and attention, and if you can't give them that, then I wouldn't bother getting this particular breed. I knew when I wanted to get a Corgi, I wanted a dog that would smoother me with attention because I didn't want to be alone ever. Others want a lower maintence dog. So I can promise you Corgis need as much love as you can give.

#10 Grooming

This is the final thing I wanted to bring up, grooming is essential with Corgis. Corgis have 2 really big sheds every single year, their summer and winter coats. It can be really intense, so I have a groomer help me out. They use a Furminator Brush and they go in and get that under coat off on a regular basis. They also need their teeth brushed regularly, and nails trimmed. They don't need to be shaved, but their coat is a definite upkeep on maintenance. Just have them trim the hairs around their booty if they get too long. Typically I budget about $80 for the groomers monthly, and take Morty to PetSmart. They have an awesome option in the app to pick different services and options. So that's it! Regardless if you do or don't decide to take my advice, at least you have some idea of what Corgi life is like. I love it personally and wouldn't trade it for the world. Now please scroll down below as I spam you with all my personal Corgi pictures! Until Next time!

Like what you read here today? There is more to come! I would appreciate if you contributed a gift below, this allows me to to keep my little family afloat.

-Kayla

dog
1

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.