Petlife logo

Roadtrip with Rico

Rico Pup

By W.E. CervantezPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

-This story is mostly true, names, locations have changed. Except for Rico, this was our closest moment.

Carl woke up to the sound of his alarm going off. Instantly he got angry, this meant the rooster was killed. This is the 2nd rooster this month! Carl yells.

His daughter still asleep he makes his way out the house and to the backyard where sure enough Rico’s mouth covered in blood, feathers about and the body of the rooster, neck ripped open. Rico tosses the rooster in the air and sees Carl at the door.

Rico stops in his tracks as if though he just realized what he did was wrong despite how fun it was killing the Rooster.

Rico drops the rooster and goes to sit, then lays down; his tail wagging swiftly wanting to play with Carl. The ranch Carl runs brings his family money. Having a dog that keeps killing the livestock is counterproductive he thought.

Plus, a chicken that layed eggs was killed, Carl was ready to shoot him.

"I'm going to give you one more time dog." He says and dials his aunt. "Linda, I have a dog and he needs a home, I would trust y'all to have him so I want to ask before asking around here." Linda said she her daughter, me; Whit would be interested.

I was out eating tacos with my daughter Babylae, and we got the text about Rico's situation. Babylae and I were talking about taking on dog ownership again recently and of course I didn't want to hear he had been shot for killing chickens.

Carl explained he was great with kids and people he just could not resist killing his chickens.

Where I was living the home and its size was perfect for a German Shepperd.

We had a garden but no animals; except my cat Figaro at the time and my aunt's two dogs that stayed in her room mostly. The Thing is I had to get Rico from Oklahoma, A bit of a drive from where I was in Kansas at the time.

My aunt said she would go with me to pick up Rico, to make sure I had someone to go with; girl power. Plus, she wanted to see her son in the town we would be in.

It took us the entire day to meet Carl to pick up Rico. We show up by sundown in the parking lot of a store. Carl walks out of his car and the moment I saw him he latched on to me. We stayed at a cousin’s place that night, she had dogs and a spare pin where Rico could rest in for the night before we drove back to Kansas the next morning.

Rico was nervous but when I would take him out to the restroom, he would stay near herding me like a sheep. It was funny.

Rico rode in the car that was dog friendly and ready to be in for a quite some time. We would stop at rest stops to take potty breaks, drink some water, eat food. Rico, my aunt and I were out on the road rescuing this amazing chicken-obsessed dog so he could wake up to see life. The road trip brought us together, that's a lot of time to drive in a car with strangers.

Rico later in life got adventurous and ran away. Rico was determined to pursue life how he wanted.

adoption
1

About the Creator

W.E. Cervantez

Proud xicana pansexual mom, author, and artist. Published Tiny Whispers in 2021 and committed to writing. Read my work, pledge support, and subscribe for updates on new projects. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.