Petlife logo

Ringo and Starfire: Pets by night, party animals by day

The secret life of my pets

By Judith JaschaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Recently, I have noticed strange things when I get home from work. Things are out of place. Papers are strewn about and food is left on the counter. The pillows on the couch are scratched and chewed up. I was very curious as to what happened. I have a dog named Ringo and a cat named Starfire that I leave at home during the day. I knew that they did it, but I wanted to see how they committed such a crime. I decided to install a camera to see what went on when I wasn’t home.

One night before bed, I put up a camera in the living room. I was going to have visual evidence of my pets’ wicked doings. The next day, I went to work with a sense of determination. However, I could never imagine what I would see when I got home that night. I sat down with a glass of wine and my phone to see what happened that day in my absence.

At first, things seemed quiet. They just laid on their beds. “Pretty harmless,” I thought. But eventually they got up and looked around. I figured they were getting hungry and would go to their bowls for a meal. Apparently, they weren’t in the mood for dog and cat food. I was shocked when my cat went to the refrigerator door and opened it. “Oh no!” I exclaimed as he took out my leftover lasagna. “Dang, that was going to be my dinner.” They ate it all and washed it down with the water that I had left out for them.

The next thing I knew, they went to the front door and exited through the pet door. They were gone awhile. They love to get their exercise in the park. They also like to hang out with the other neighborhood pets. Of course, I didn’t expect them to bring them all back with them. But to my horror and amusement, they returned with a house full of pets. There weren’t just dogs and cats, but hamsters, snakes, lizards, mice, even a couple of chickens.

Ringo got into a wrestling match with the golden retriever that lives down the street. Apparently they were both after the affections of Lucy, the female poodle from next door. They ended up on the couch and when trying to bite Ringo, the golden retriever ended up taking a bite out of my couch. While trying to come to the rescue, Starfire ended up scratching the pillows until feathers came out of it. After a good scuffle, they all decided to be friends again.

To celebrate their renewed friendships, they threw a party. I never knew that cats knew how to use a laptop, but Starfire was on there ordering pizza for all of the gang. Of course, there also had to be music. They are fans of nineties’ rock. They all danced and enjoyed their pizza. They tried to cover up their doings by spreading newspapers to catch any crumbs or spilling that may occur. And boy, did they ever. Pizza, soda, fur, and their public restroom was all over the place.

Finally, they went home, leaving my two little criminals behind. I wanted to be angry, but I was so surprised, I had to laugh. It wasn’t easy cleaning up, but I eventually finished. I don’t know how I am going to keep this from happening again. I guess pets will be pets. I learned a lot about their personalities and that they are a lot more human than I thought. We are definitely going to have to work on their house manners.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Judith Jascha

Mom, sister, teacher, student, writer. I love to touch on all areas as I like to expose myself to new things. My goal is to use my experience to entertain and educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.