Petlife logo

Puppy Love

A chapter from the book "Misconception of Success"

By Patrick Davis Published 4 years ago 10 min read
Like

Puppy Love

I have been with my master since I was 10 weeks old. I still remember when he came and picked me up to go to my new home. I laid on his lap the whole way there. I don’t really remember much, because I was so little, and I guess I slept most of the ride home.

I remember he would always let me play with bird feathers, because I was going to be his hunting dog. I always loved those play days when he would hide the bird, and I would go find it for him. He would always be so excited when I found it and brought it back to him. He didn’t like it when I wouldn’t drop it, though. He always had this black thing in his hand that would jolt me if I wouldn’t obey or I would run far away from him. He didn’t have to use it very much, though, because I didn’t want to make him mad.

We always had a lot of fun. When the leaves fell from the trees, I always knew it was time to find birds for him. Then, when it got cold and the white stuff would hit the ground, he would get sick sometimes, and I always laid on his soft thing with him and keep him company. He liked that, but for some reason, he didn’t like when I would lay on him, so he always had me lay by his feet. The hot days would come, and he would take me for runs, and we would swim in the river. I always loved those days. There were a lot of times he was gone during the day, though. Master called it “school” or “work." I wasn’t sure what that meant; I just knew it meant we couldn’t hang out. When he got home from those places, I always got so excited. Sometimes, I could tell he wasn't himself when he got back, but I always did my best to make sure he knew I loved him.

One time, master left for the school place and didn’t come back for a really long time. It felt like 7 dog-years.

When he did come back, he looked older and more mature. I was excited to be together again, because it’s hard when your person leaves for that long; you aren’t sure why they would leave in the first place. My master still leaves all the time. I worry that he will be gone for a long time, so when he does come back at the end of the day, I make sure I give him extra licks and wag my tail superfast. Sometimes though, I get too excited, and I follow him into his food place, so I get yelled at. I don’t know why I can’t be in that kitchen place, but I follow anyway, just to make sure he knows I’m there. It’s not uncommon that when I follow him into a place, he turns around, and he steps on my paw, and then he yells at me. I don’t understand why it’s my fault, either, but that’s okay.

My master and I have been together 77 years now, and I have got to say it’s been pretty awesome. He brings me bones, I sit by this box that produces this warm fire stuff, I have a cushy bed, and he always scoops up my poop. I wouldn’t choose any other person in this whole doggy world to call my best friend. When he’s home, I make sure I check on him about every five minutes, you know, just to make sure he’s okay. Plus, I want him to scratch my ears. He gives the best ear scratches. Sometimes, he just tells me to go lay down, but sometimes I wait for him to tell me again, just in case he does need me.

He does yell at me, but that’s usually because I did something wrong. I never get mad at him, though, because I can’t help but get so excited to see him. It seems that now we are both older, he has gotten busier, and we do less fun stuff. That’s okay, though, because he makes up for it by taking me for rides in the car. Sometimes we even go to this place where a bunch of other dogs and masters hang out. I don’t even have to be on a leash there, and I can sniff everything. I still haven’t sniffed everything there yet, but I will.

Today has seemed like it’s lasting forever. The white stuff is falling from the sky, and I have been laying on this couch all day. These days are boring. We don’t play as much during the cold time, and when he does get home, it’s too dark and cold to play. Oh! Wait one second! I think he’s pulling in. Nope. False alarm. It was the neighbor. That master has two little yappy dogs that always bark at me when my master and I are outside in the yard. I think they are just jealous, because their master doesn’t take them for car rides. Losers. Wait, wait, wait! This has to be him this time. Yep, here he comes. It’s my master!

I’m going to be right at that door when he opens it, so we can hang, plus I really need to go potty. “Hey, master! How was your day? Want to play? Here’s my snake if you want to throw it, and I’ll go get it and bring it back to you. Oh, you don’t want to play right now? That’s okay. I need to go potty anyway, and then we can play later, or we can do whatever you want. I’m just glad you’re home! I have been so bored without you. That mailman guy came by and knocked at the door, and I barked at him to let him know you’ll be home later. If you need to change first, I’ll wait to go potty. It’s no biggie. Oh, you need to go potty? I’ll be right out here when you are done. Hey, master! How was your potty? I need to go now, but if you need a second, that’s okay. I’m just glad you're home!” I need to go now, because I think we are going for a walk!

Devotion

I learned a lot from Anne. She has been by my side since we were both pups. We have had our ups and downs, but one thing never changed: she's always loved me. There have been many times in my life, when I haven’t been the greatest person or the greatest dog owner. I am so far from perfect, and I never will claim to be, but I bet if Anne could talk, she would tell you I am perfect. I’m sure if you asked your dog the same thing, they would give you the same answer.

The biggest thing dogs could teach humans is how to love without thinking. Their devotion is hard to completely understand. They don’t think about your faults or your mistakes. They just want you and only you. Imagine if we as humans projected the same amount of love for someone as a dog does for its master.

Be Selfless

The cool thing about dogs is that they are a very selfless species. With the objective to serve, you won’t find them putting themselves first very often. Their focus is to provide you with its joy and spirits without ever thinking, “What’s in it for me?” When you are down, they will try and keep you up. When you are scared, they will protect. When you leave, their loyalty stands strong, waiting for your return.

Love is when you stop putting yourself first, take a step back, and put others in your place. You do things for them and help them, not because you want something in return, but because seeing them happy makes you happy. Their accomplishment is your accomplishment. You do these things, because you truly care about them. Think of the word “care” spelled with two “E's”: Constant Attention Regarding Everyone Else.

Caring for someone is like a boomerang of happiness. If you throw someone your care and bring them joy, it will come directly back to you. On the other hand, if you throw them a half-assed attempt at caring, and it’s not sincere, well, the boomerang might just come back and hit you in the nuts (hypothetically speaking). My point is this: It always comes full circle. What you give is what you get. Try giving more, and I promise you will get yours. Be like a dog: be caring, loyal, and most of all, selfless.

Challenge yourself to do one act of kindness a day for someone else and see what happens. I guarantee you won’t be mad at yourself for doing it.

Forgiveness

Humans don’t forgive easily, because forgiving is hard. We have pride, and we can be stubborn, and we can have a tendency to make sure someone knows they did you wrong. A dog will usually forgive you for anything you do to him (to a point). They see through your bad character and move on. There will always be people who hurt you, do you wrong, and betray you. Holding on to that grudge and anger won’t do you any good. Move on from it and forget. Life is too short to stay mad at someone forever. We all make mistakes, and we all want to be forgiven for the hurt we brought someone. No matter how big the hurt is, try to forgive, because it will bring you peace.

“I can have a peace of mind when I forgive rather than judge.” -Gerald Jampolsky

Compassion

No matter how upset or sad you are, a dog always knows how to give you love and comfort. They are always looking to alleviate your pain and bring your happiness to the next level. They believe in you, even when you don’t believe in yourself. They see the good in you, even when you feel like you are the biggest piece of shit. Attempt to do this with the people you love. Be generous and kind with the focus on relieving their pain. Believe in them, when they don’t believe in themselves. Support their dreams, even when they have lost hope. Remind them they are worthy and be their biggest cheerleader.

“Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without that, humanity cannot survive.” -Dalai Lama

Nonjudgmental

We all have regrets and things we hate about ourselves. We have all done stupid things and wish we could take them back. We are all fighting our own battles and have been through hardships. We have all talked badly about someone. We have all made a decision of what we think about someone, just by the way they look, talk, or even walk. We cast judgment too quickly, before we even get to know someone. The cool thing about dogs is that they don’t judge you at all. They love you for you and only you. They don’t listen to the rumors or hear the negative things you say. They just wag their tail when you come home and lick your face when you pet them.

Even when you are in the worst mood ever or just made the biggest mistake of your life, they are still there, waiting for you. They may have reservations, because they can sense something is wrong, but it does not define your character, thus they love you inside and out. They always have a way of making you feel worthy, even when you don’t feel the same way about yourself. Sometimes, I think we judge ourselves by the mistakes we have made in the past. That doesn’t define you. How you grow from those mistakes does.

"Be the person your dog thinks you are."

- J. W. Stephens

‘May you hunt the fields of dog heaven, getting all the pets, and all the human food you could dream of.

Rest in Peace my hunting champ, Sweet Anne.’

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.