Petlife logo

Poppy

She's changed my life.

By Davia BuchacherPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I walked into a teeny-tiny, run-down animal shelter without a clue that I would walk out with my soulmate. Piles of papers and files stacked on the shelves behind the front desk, more files and papers piled high on the desk, a small bench in one corner, and peeling linoleum flooring greeted me as I ventured in. The older woman behind the desk greeted me and asked what I was looking for. I paused and asked if I could just take a look around. She waved me on. I wandered around the small square building, three rooms full of cats just… out, being cats, a couple rooms with puppies, then I wandered outside and walked a bit around the yard, finding some dogs in outdoor kennels.

I went back inside and asked if there were any bully breeds.

I grew up with a brindle pit-boxer mix named Moses and absolutely adored the goofy man.

She looked at the man who was standing in the corner of the lobby (or whatever you’d call it) and asked him to bring out a dog. He brought out a 4-month-old white English Bull Terrier. I said hi (of course) and played with him for a couple minutes, but I specifically said no, thank you! I was not going to try and potty train a puppy in my sister’s house.

I asked if there was anyone who’d been there a while.

The two looked at each other and thought for a few seconds. “Maybe Queenie?” she suggested.

He took the puppy away and replaced him with a tawny, scrawny, smiley girl with a black muzzle and ears. She’d been there for four months. The woman guessed she was a black-mouth cur, but she had the big pitty head.

I swear I was not planning on adopting that day, I was just looking.

HA.

She had immediately rolled for belly rubs. When we went outside, she had terrible leash manners. But I looked in her face and knew. I would not be able to erase that face from my head.

I walked back in and asked how much, then spent the best $100 a broke-ass girl could spend.

Snoring away

It’s been a journey together. We’ve gone through some trauma, resulting in her terrified of me crying and me severely anxious about her around cats. We’ve both grown so much, to the point where she now snuggles with my roommate’s kittens and knows exactly when I’m upset to come put pressure on some part of my body. (Though she still hides when I cry). She gets me out of bed on bad days and helps me to breathe in the fresh air when we take a walk.

Poppy and Melody - my roommate's cat. The two have a special bond.

I got a job at the local animal shelter six months ago and can take her to work every day.

I wish you could’ve seen the drastic change I’ve seen in her – I’m as proud as any parent could be.

The first day of me taking her in, she slunk in, tail tucked between her legs, and shook. She found a hiding spot under the front desk and just lay there, shaking. Thank goodness my coworkers know how to handle an anxious dog – she got treats galore and we were able to get her to my office, where she cowered on her bed.

She gradually began to realize the shelter meant treats, new humans meant treats, and being there meant we’d go to the large, off-leash park twice a day.

Now she wags her tail simply going in the shelter door every morning, and willingly greets new humans when we walk by. She has changed exponentially, all in just six months.

She's an odd duck.

I love working at the shelter. It’s one of my favorite jobs. I feel like I’m actually making a difference in the world by helping the shelter run, which is incredibly important to me. I like to know my job is significant. I’m the office assistant, so I do a lot of back-up work and fixing of copiers and counting inventory and such.

But –

I’m in a tiny office with no windows – only a glass door – around the corner from everybody, with a dark brown desk and cabinet and beige walls. I’m a very social person, so having the door closed in that office with no social outlet is rough. The color scheme also drives me nuts; I love color and neutral colors makes my brain hazy. I work at my desk, staring at a screen, which is not something I typically do willingly – I like to be active, on my feet. I hate being bored, and this is a slow job.

So, when I’m bored, it’s wonderful to be able to take a break and be outside, and such a joy to watch her play hard with the other dogs in the park. She lifts my spirits every day.

The happiest Eeyore you'll ever see!

I can’t explain enough how this wonderful, smiley girl has changed my life.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Davia Buchacher

I was raised in an ever-growing town in southwest Montana. My heart belongs to this town, Bozeman, my dog, Poppy, and the feeling of furiously writing in a G2 0.38 pen on paper, time flying by as I tell a story. Instagram is @freelikeasong

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.