Petlife logo

Picked up at the Shop

No, not the Pet Shop

By Tim LawsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Kitt chilling next to his favorite heater

I picked Kitt up at the shop...Yes, I named him Kitt (after a car, not because he's a cat) and no, I didn't pick him up at the pet shop. I also didn't adopt Kitt in the fashion most think of. You see, he appeared out of no where one winter morning while I was working at a John Deere dealer as a mechanic (there's the shop part of it). He was wandering around the mowers on display out front and was curious about what I was doing.

I had walked up for one of my million cups of coffee I drank at work and he watched me through the window with that quizzical look that kittens get when they want to inspect the goings on a bit closer. So I walked outside, coaxed him closer and as I knelt down he wanted to climb on my leg to see everything even closer. All was good until he decided he should try a sip of coffee but the second his nose touch that wonderfully hot black liquid; he was off like a bullet from a gun and I thought I'd never see him again.

A day later he showed up at the shop again and from that point he became the "shop cat" wandering around inspecting things and in general, being a curious kitten. He would often join me out on service calls, curled in my lap as I drove from shop to farm, then would watch me with interest as I fixed mowers or loaded them for transport back to the shop where he would always make sure to inspect my work.

Fast forward a few months and I decided to take him home with me. Talk around the shop had made me increasingly nervous as I knew I was planning to leave there within the next year and I was not sure of his well-being much after I would leave. I knew he was a healthy kitten who was becoming a curious cat and yet I somehow felt he needed a home beyond the random acts of kindness for those 8 hour days, 5 days a week.

So, he came home with me, he had a bath after which we discovered one of his toes was brown, and he became an integral part to my family. I adopted him into my family after his left him to fend for himself at a busy intersection with only a barren field and a workshop to keep him entertained. Since, that first day he's come home he has always been loved. Sometimes he can be frustrating, sometimes a bit too clingy, sometimes not to be found and other times always under foot, but all in all taking him in has been one of my best decisions over the past years.

I understand the draw to seek out a reputable breeder and raise a perfect specimen from a puppy, or kitten, until they’re fully grown but there’s something to be said for taking in a stray or adopting a furry friend who’s bosses have either found themselves incapable of providing a good home, or simply did no treat them with the love and respect they all deserve. There are more than enough animals waiting for a loving home to take them in, why not adopt, in one form or another.

I know I didn't adopt Kitt from a shelter, I rescued him from somewhere between being a stray and being caught by a shelter. He's since become my sidekick and I wouldn't change a thing over the years that he's grown and moved across oceans with me. Until his last, he'll always have a spot where he's welcome and loved.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Tim Lawson

There isn't much to tell about me. Well, there is a ton to tell about me. I don't know how to put it into words without writing a book, or not telling enough of the story. So, I'll just leave it at that & let my writing tell the story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.