Petlife logo

Pawprints

A Tribute to my Patients

By Brittany BryksPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
It's a beautiful day to save lives.

Fur. Feathers. Scales.

Paws. Beaks. Claws.

In the past 6 years of which I have been a Registered Veterinary Technician, I have experienced such a large number of the aforementioned types of animals I've lost count. All have crossed my path due to differing circumstances, whether it be their unfortunate ill health or their exciting first chapter with a new family. But each one was special.

I can't say that every single one has left a mark solely because of their cuteness, or their sweet affectionate temperament. I'd be lying if I said the so-called "difficult" patients had been my favorites. At least not right off the bat... But the fact is, they all taught me something very special in their own unique way. Whether it was to trust my own instincts and advocate harder for their healthcare, or to make sure to be fully aware of my surroundings and be prepared for anything...

Veterinary nurses are often overlooked as vital members of the pet healthcare team, as owners equate the healing of their furry family members with only the Veterinarian. The white coat. The Doctor. But as someone who spends most of their waking hours every week with any number of well-loved and special pets, the patients know who is there to feed them when they're hungry, or give them something to take away their pain. Or even just to dole out some extra cuddles when there's a spare moment. And don't think for one second those snuggles aren't a vital part of the healing process. The same applies to humans healing faster by snuggling up with their pets.

For me, every single patient I've ever helped nurse back to health, or comforted when they were in pain, or fed treats to to ease the sting of those necessary vaccines-they are the reason I do what I do. They can turn a terrible, awful day around so fast with their grateful tail wags or excited meows. As much as I've always wanted to help animals, I never really understood how much they would also be helping me.

Everyone goes through tough times in their lives. That's no secret. And it's no exception for pets either. But one of the most incredible things pet owners have, is the unconditional love from their faithful friends. Seeing how animals react and intuitively sense how a person is feeling, is awe-inspiring at the very least.

Pets provide something that we can't truly quantify or understand. Over the years, scientists have tried to study the effect that pets have on humans, and there have definitely been some surprising discoveries. Like the fact that owning a cat can decrease high blood pressure. Or how dogs can sense when their owners are going to have a seizure or diabetic episode. Pets are constantly surprising us with their abilities, and their unwavering love.

Most of us who are lucky enough to have pets in our lives know that they aren't "just pets". They're so much more than that. They're a safe haven-a comfort. Someone to talk to and make us not feel so alone. A partner in all the ups and downs of life. Someone to make these trips around the sun a little more fun and filled with laughter. Sometimes a sympathetic presence that can sense your sadness and cuddle it away. And sometimes a therapist if you've had a bad day and just need to vent.

As much as I'd like to focus on my own rescue cat and talk about how he changed my life (which he did!), I feel that it's my obligation to acknowledge all of the pets that have affected my life in so many ways I didn't even fathom. They have helped me better understand my views on how their quality of life can have such an enormous impact on their health, and ours. They have helped me acknowledge my own issues that I hadn't really focused on before, and realize that in order to be my best self I needed to stop focusing on stigma and start using all the different methods at my disposal to help with my anxiety. Being a veterinary nurse has definitely only increased my love for animals, and that is all because of the patients I have had, do have, and will have in the future. But it has also made me appreciate the human-animal bond at an even deeper level.

The relationship that pets have with people is one that can only be defined as extraordinary. It can often be complicated, but in the end, our pets are always their for us in our times of greatest need. They give us a purpose in life that many of us probably never even realized we had. And they make our lives more fulfilled than we could have ever imagined.

Waking up every day and going into work to see what animals will be walking through those clinic doors makes me happy. Truly, amazingly happy. Because not only do I get to help animals who need it, but they also provide comfort to myself and my coworkers when we've "had one of those days".

Like the extra cuddly cat who has started eating after 3 days of feeling like dirt.

Like the sweet, adorable puppy who gives kisses when you're trying to listen to their heart.

Like the curious but cautious hedgehog who is extra grateful for the treats you give him so you can handle him more easily.

Like the resilient dog who was hit by a car, but walks out of the clinic wagging his tail.

Like the soft and fuzzy bunny who FINALLY poops and feels good enough to hop around their cage.

Like the parrot who mimics his canine roommates and proceeds to randomly bark at the staff. (Yes, seriously!)

Here's to those patients. And all of the other pets that would take far too much time to mention. All shapes, sizes, and colors. This is my tribute to you all. You give us the happiness that we all deserve but may not truly realize. You are there for us no matter what. You fill our lives with so much joy and love. Thank you for helping us as much as, if not more than, we have helped you. You are the reason why we are so lucky to go through life happily, knowing that you're waiting for us at the door when we get home-with unconditional love, cuddles and the odd slobbery kiss.

vet
2

About the Creator

Brittany Bryks

Pet nurse. Whisky drinker. Bookworm. Tea lover. Marvel geek. Hardcore hockey fan. Sarcasm translator. Instagram photographer. Newbie Blogger.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.