Petlife logo

Paw-fection

Who knew that the perfect co-worker would come with four legs and leave hair all over the office?

By Nati SaednejadPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Me (left), and Cesar

Have you ever had a co-worker who is always happy, always greets you warmly, and always, always, makes you smile? No? Well then, you need to get yourself a dog.

Now, I may be biased for two reasons: 1, I'm self-employed so I've never actually had a co-worker, and 2, my dog is the love of my life, but hear me out.

Having always worked for myself as a private tutor, I've only ever known solitary work - that is, when I'm not with my students. COVID pushed this even further into the realms of solitude, as I spent most of the last year and a half alone, in front of a computer screen. Most of it, apart from what I like to call my Mental Health Mutt Breaks.

Meet Cesar - 13 going on 3, an insatiable appetite, and an inability to grasp the concept of 'fetch'. Perfect in every way. Even in the days of yore (pre-pandemic), Cesar was a saviour for my sanity. Always there to hug and be a furry receptacle for my tears, always teaching me how to be happy living in the moment, enjoying the most simple of things (usually a paper bag, that he would rip to shreds).

Mental Health Mutt Break

Over the last year and a half, however, his role has grown enormously, and now encompasses not only being my co-worker, but also my best friend and confidante when we've all been shut off from the wider world. Cesar will sit with me and listen without judgement for as long as I need. He'll find me outside, sitting on the grass, and plonk down next to me as we contemplate life together. Most of the time words, on my part obviously, aren't even needed. It's the type of relationship where silence is more than golden - it's precious.

Whilst Cesar can't give me constructive criticism on my lesson plans, or help me to debate how best to deal with an unruly student, he can give me the respite I need to tackle my work with fresh eyes. You see, you can learn a lot from a dog's perspective. Here are just a few tips I've picked up along the way:

1. Live in the moment

Cesar doesn't worry about whether it'll rain on his walk tomorrow, or whether he'll get the good meat for dinner tonight, he simply lives moment to moment, making the most of what's in front of him. Too often, as humans, we get caught up in regrets from the past, or fears of the future, and totally miss the present. Cesar would never make that mistake.

2. Tackle what's in front of you, and don't look back

Cesar's always looking forward, usually at a squirrel, and never back. He tackles life one step at a time by conquering what's in front of him, and that is a mindset from which I've learnt a lot. If I have a big task, or a long to-do list, I take it one step at a time. I break my tasks down into manageable chunks, and only deal with the task in front of me at the time. After all, it's easier to focus on getting one squirrel at a time, rather than the whole gang of five.

Love of my life

3. Appreciate the small things

With life having gone topsy turvy over the last year and a half, it's been hard to find positivity amidst the chaos. Cesar, however, is a pro at this. He'll always stop to smell the flowers, he'll gallop in the rain, and he'll linger for a long while over a really great carrot. When times get hard, and I start to despair, I've started to teach myself to list five little things around me, or in my life, that make me happy. Cesar has been a guru of gratitude.

4. Always show others how much you appreciate them

Cesar is never backward in coming forward about how he's feeling. He'll clamber on you, lick your ears, show you his belly...you get the picture. Now, I'm not saying you should do this with your co-workers, friends or family, as you might find yourself in some horrifically awkward, or terribly legal, situations, but it costs nothing to tell someone how much you appreciate them. Who knows, they might tell you exactly the same thing back.

True love

So, as you can see, Cesar is quite the model co-worker, and friend. Loyal, a great listener, and always there to help you de-stress with a smile. Working alone can sometimes get lonely, but I know that whatever happens, I've got a furry friend just around the corner to lift my spirits.

dog
1

About the Creator

Nati Saednejad

Linguist. Loon. Life-lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.