Petlife logo

Sunset With My Springer

Basking in golden rays with the light of my life

By Nati SaednejadPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Over our 14 years together, Cesar and I have had some wonderful adventures. From the (now) hilarious - being chased by a herd of cows - to the somewhat terrifying - pulling him Titanic-style out of an icy lake - it’s fair to say that we’e crammed our lives full of memories.

Cesar is like any Springer, in that he is full of energy, strong-willed, and total goofball. Basically a furry version of his owner. From his first days curling up on my lap as tiny puppy, to his current golden years, he’s been my best friend, my brother, and my favourite little boy. Even when he steals half my apple every morning at breakfast.

When I look back on our years together, it’s hard to choose one memory as the most cherished one that I would want to share, so I thought I’d settle upon one where my soul felt totally at peace.

Last summer, as the pandemic continued to loom above us as the most foreboding of dark clouds, I sat with Cesar in our garden, glass of wine in hand, and watched the late evening sun set behind the trees. It was sitting there, gazing at the orangey-reds that were painted across the sky, head leant into the soft fur of Cesar’s, that I found a patch of perfect peace amongst the pandemic. In that moment, I was totally immersed in the present, and nothing existed beyond the beauty of the sky, the warmth of the wine in my belly, and the solid, strong presence of my buddy beside me.

You see, I’ve always struggled to live in the moment, and to be fully present in the here and now. I’m always either lamenting the past or fretting about the future, and in the midst of those emotions I am missing out on the joy that can be found right in front of my eyes. Sitting in the grass on that balmy summer’s eve, however, I think I finally found it.

Living in the now is one of the biggest lessons I think we can learn from our furry friends. It’s often said that dogs don’t live as long as humans because they live life so fully, and so full of joy, that they don’t need as many years as us to experience their world, and for it to be filled with happiness. I can totally believe that.

As I wrapped my arm around Cesar, and turned away from the sunset to look at him, he was so still, so immersed in the moment, and so engaged with each one of his senses, that I realised far from owners being the ones to teach their dogs new tricks, they can teach us even more. His eyes were taking in the sunset. His ears were listening out for creatures big and small wandering through the garden. His nose was smelling the wafting plants and flowers that populated his surroundings. He was so present, so at peace, that I couldn’t help but to start taking a leaf out of his book.

I sipped my cool wine as the last rays of sunshine warmed my face, and an immense sense of gratitude washed over me. Here I was, watching the beauty of nature whilst sitting next to a being that had, and always would, love me unconditionally. How could I not feel blessed to be given a companion that expected nothing from me, but gave so much, just as the sun did to all on earth every day? It was humbling, even more so in the light of what the world had been going through.

So, while a sunset might not seem like the most momentous of memories to be sharing here, for me it encapsulated everything that Cesar has opened my eyes to, and made me appreciate, in my life. Being present. Enjoying the beauty around me. Indulging in all five of my senses. Most of all, having a love in my life that is so unconditional that it needs no words to be felt in mind, body, and soul.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Nati Saednejad

Linguist. Loon. Life-lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.