Petlife logo

Our Love Story is Over...For Now

MILO

By Teresa WegrzynPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
The First Domino

Our love story began on September 10, 2010. I was just scanning the pages of our local newspaper when I came upon an ad. A very tired Mother of five children was looking to find a forever home for her Chihuahua. I wasn't even thinking about adopting a dog, cat, horse or anything at that time. It just happened. There was a tingling in my hands and a flutter in my heart. I knew he belonged with me. Milo, you were living only five blocks away from us. This fact was the glue that sealed the envelope in my mind that we belonged together.

This poor tired lady invited me to her house at 9'clock at night to pick you up. When we got to the house I did indeed see a lady who needed a vacation or at least a long nap. The children all gather around my sister, Liz, and I. They were excited about seeing strangers but they weren't happy about giving their dog away, pretty little 7 y/o Manda handed you to me. " He's a really good dog. We love him but it's not fair to him. He shouldn't have to stay in the crate all day. It's better if he goes to live with you. " She was being so brave. I could see the tears she was trying to hold back. She had such a beautiful little face. I hated to see it so sad.

The other kids gathered around to kiss their friend. Gabriel, Matthew, Sierra and James. " Ogre is his name " 4y/0 James informed me. ( the very first thought that shot into my head was. I don't hardly thing so.) I got down on my knees and hugged James close, " you know what Sweetheart? We don't live that far from each other. You can come and visit him any time you want to." My eyes met Mom, Ashlyn's, eyes and shook her head.

James lifted his head off my shoulder and gave me a snot bubble kiss. It was time for us to go. Ogre was about to start his brand new life.

Liz was driving, she watched as I cuddled my new friend. " You know what? He's no Ogre. He's a Milo." I have no idea where that name came from. It just popped into my head. It just seemed to fit him for some reason. We all have those inner voices that tell us things sometimes just come from out of the blue.

I had found out ten years ago that you had congestive heart failure. It seemed as if the Vet was trying to prepare me for your imminent death.

Well, you sure did show them, didn't you. You stayed with me until March 2021. I spoiled and spoiled you. I wanted you to have everything you ever might want. You were also quite the little bully with the bigger dogs. You sure did show them who was boss! I don't think there was one out of the four we had that wanted to come across you when you were in a bad mood. It was comical to watch a 4lb ball of fluff scare away a 100lb hound dog. I don't know if that sharp little bark of yours was some kind of doggie cuss word or threat but it was effective whatever it was.

You were the first of my three little buddies. You were very close to Bella and Prince. It was really cute to see you all sleep together. I think the fact that Prince snored broke up that love fest but it made you want to sleep with me. You particularly liked to sleep in my hair. I was fine with that. I had enough hair for you to live there for days if you wished. I really enjoyed the tactile stimulated of having you right there, right where I could reach up and pet you whenever I wanted too.

Milo, I think you stayed with me as long as you did because of me. You knew I wanted you to stay but I really believe you knew that I didn't want you to suffer for one hour more than you had too. No, not a day, not an hour, not a minute. You were always my friend and I will forever be yours.

I remember our last day together as a couple. We started out in our new, used truck. It was a beautiful day. The sky was so bright and clear. I knew you would have no problem finding the rainbow bridge. You were laying on the front seat. There was no wind surfing that day. You were so tired and, indeed, the rainbow bridge was calling.

We were on our way to the Vet you loved when suddenly the truck just stopped driving. I couldn't believe it. The transmission oil was all over the road. You were laying on the passenger seat breathing rough. I was having frantic brain screams. I called roadside assistance but no one was going to be available for three hours! I couldn't make you suffer by sheer luck a Deputy stopped to see how we were. I explained our situation and asked him to take us home. I just left the truck on the side of the road with the keys in it. I figured either they would tow it to the house eventually or someone else would steal it. I didn't care either way. I just needed to do this for you. We weren't far away. He was so sweet. He brought us home. He rubbed your head and wished you luck on your new journey. He gave me a hug.

We switched cars as quickly as we could. It was getting close to closing time. I flew down the hill to get you there. I didn't want you to have to suffer one more night. I tried really hard not to cry, Milo, I really did but I just couldn't help myself.

We made it to the doctor's office just in time. I kissed you on your nose one last time, you kissed me back. Dr. Tetterton was doing his last good deed for you.

I held you tiny body close. I began to sing the only song that popped into my head. It was the song I learned as a Girl Scout, back in the 70's.

" Make new friends

but keep the ooold

One is silver and

the other gold.

A circle's round

It has no end.

That's how long I

want to be your friend. "

You left as peacefully as you could. Your brown eyes closed slowly I could feel the relief, the peace. I honestly believe I felt the moment your soul took flight.

The tears came fast and boy, did they last. I'm crying for you this very minute. because I miss you so, but my sweet boy I knew it was your time to go.

You gave me so much love, laughter and joy.

My new tattoo is going to be a Dove. In memory of you my two other buddies. That tattoo will be a symbol of us. You will never be forgotten.

Milo, my dear heart, our love story for now has come to an end

I'm positive Dad will care for you until we meet again.

Coming soon. The love story of Bella and me.

Thank you kind folks for reading our story. I hope you all have a Milo in your life. If you like what you've read please press the heart to light it up. If you really liked our love story.. tips are always appreciated.

Teresa

dog
3

About the Creator

Teresa Wegrzyn

Hello,

This is my second act in life. I've always to give writing a try. My fourth grade teacher once told me that my stories always made her feel something. I really didn't understand that being so young but I get it now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.