Petlife logo

Omar's Diary to 7th December 2019

Daily Star, new reading material, Christmas and General Election

By Alan RussellPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

In my previous diary (Omar’s Diary to 16th November 2019) I mentioned my concern that Man Servant was getting into a rut with his choice of newspaper. Leading up to that comment he had brought home The Times more than five times and I was worried his opinions were becoming set. I urged him to bring something different into the library here at Omar Towers.

To my utter shock, horror and dismay he brought home a copy of the Daily Star. It took us less than five minutes to scan its pages of colour pictures and advertisements for ‘Black Friday’ promotions. There was very little ‘news’ of the type I am used to reading in its garish pages. I sincerely hope Man Servant did not buy this publication and that it was given away when he purchased fuel for the ‘red thing’. This newspaper’s only saving grace was that, as Man Servant so adroitly said, “It had less coverage of the looming election than the model on page three”.

In future I will be careful what I wish for.

Over the last three weeks there has been an influx of new reading material arrive in the library. Books about the Middle East, Asia, Eurasia and the Ottoman Empire. When Man Servant sees these new books he immediately refers to their indexes and mutters “Omar, Omar……..nope…..Kissinger, Saud, Suleyman, Lawrence and Ataturk but no Omar”.

During the last weekend of November Lady and Man Servant attended a viewing of works by a local artist. When they returned to Omar Towers highly enthused about what they had seen and in their conversations the words “commission” and “portraits” were mentioned often.

Now, I know Christmas will be very soon. This is because I have started to see the decorations go up around the house and I saw the Servants preparing all of their Christmas cards for posting.

If I put the two seemingly independent events of new books arriving, Man Servant muttering “Omar” as he looks through them and references to an artist who will paint commission portraits, I am beginning to understand what I will be receiving for Christmas. Two things. Firstly, a portrait of me. And secondly, a family tree so I can establish where I have come from. That would be absolutely marvelous as we all have a right to at least know where we are from and who our family are to give us at least part of our identity.

Even if it is not possible to get a portrait just knowing where I come from would be fabulous.

The Servants and I have given up watching anything related to the forthcoming General Election. Man and Lady Servant have made up their minds about who they will vote for. No amount of publicity, good or bad, is going to influence their respective choices at this stage of the campaign. All they must do is wait until 12th December to vote. Then on 13th December the country will know who will be Larry’s, the Downing Street feline, new servant.

This turmoil must be very upsetting for him.

Man Servant had an article published recently about electoral turnout here in the UK. He did extensive research comparing turnouts from countries around the world. This country lies in 17th place for its turnout of 65% at the last General Election. He described this as “abysmal” and went on to quote:

Bad officials are the ones elected by good people who do not vote” – George Jean Nathan

Electoral turnout in America at the last Presidential election was even worse at 55%. I will not repeat any comments about this statistic.

Man Servant then rewrote that same article to maintain its message but in fewer words to become a letter to a local newspaper. The editor of the paper acknowledged it and promised that it would be published in the next edition very close to if not on election day.

I would love to be able to vote but for various reasons I do not qualify to join the electoral roll. So, on behalf of myself and Man Servant we urge you wherever you are in the world and are qualified to vote to do so at every available opportunity. Even if that means voting for a least bad choice which must be far better than making no choice at all.

satire
1

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.