Petlife logo

Not just a fish

Shimmer

By Christine PicasciaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3

"It's just a fish" my husband says

"It's just a fish" my mother says

"It's just a fish" my best friend says

"No! That's Shimmer, she's our family!" my 6 year old daughter says.

Finally someone who agrees with me. I don't know where people got the idea that fish are not pets. Granted you can't touch them or cuddle up with them. You can't take them for walks or have them come running up to you when you get home from a long day of work.

But I will tell you what they can do.

Shimmer listens to me as I drink my coffee and tell her my worries about my daughter's first time going on the school bus. About how I'm the only one who cleans up around here. How work stresses me out and somedays I just want to lock myself in my room and sleep all day. I tell her about how I don't feel like cooking dinner and how we are going away so she may not see or hear us around. She knows all the family drama and secrets. She hears me sing in the kitchen while washing the dishes and watches me curse while I do my squats. She's always there, a quiet sounding board in the corner, listening to my everyday dialogue and keeping me company. My daughters run down each morning to say hi to her and make pictures to tape on the tank so she doesn't get lonely when they are at school. They take turns feeding her and reminding me to give her food while they are not home.

Every morning when I wake up and come in the kitchen where she stays, she hears my voice telling her good morning and quickly swims up to the top of the tank, where she knows breakfast will be served. She follows my finger as I play with her and talk. And unlike other pets, I only need to clean her tank about once every 2 weeks, which by the way is a science. You can't just dump water out and put new water in, you have to condition it and let it sit to get to the appropriate temperature. You keep some of her old water as it has beneficial bacteria that is necessary for a healthy environment. You vacuum any gravel that may be in there to remove any rotting and uneaten fish food. I have become somewhat of a pro at this, especially our first beloved fish Bubbles was found floating upside down in the tank. I still run down the morning after I change her water and breath a sigh of relief when I see her swimming around happy and alive.

When we go on vacation my daughters beg to bring her and sadly wave bye to her when we drop her off at my parent's house. My mom knows to send pictures everyday so we know she is doing well and still kicking. When we get home she hears my voice and swims up to the top of the tank, her way of saying hi. She is a typical pet in that she offers companionship and creates this sense of calm and comfort for me as I rattle away everything from my worries to general gossip and conversation.

Shimmer listens to me without barking or running away. She doesn't need her litter box changed. She doesn't even require expensive food, as betta food can cost 2 dollars and last months. I don't need to get into arguments over whose turn it is to walk her or clean out her poo. I don't have to worry about allergies or making the house smell of fur or a litterbox. If anything, I don't know why fish aren't considered the ideal pet.

"She's just a fish"

No she isn't.

She's our pet.

fish
3

About the Creator

Christine Picascia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.