Petlife logo

My Roll Dogs

My Imaginary Pet Family

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
my (dog)phew this is e-lo my brothers dog. I hope he doesn't mind. this is one of my favorites of him

For the record, I am not a dog owner. I'm speaking things into existence which is another word for manifestation. If I had dogs, this is how they would behave in my imagination; this is just a fun and humorous article to help me get through writers' block and imposter syndrome.

It wasn't until two years ago I realized that I'm a secret dog lover. I never loved dogs; I just tolerated them because we had a few as pets during my childhood. What was odd about me during that period was that I could take pleasure with our dog, but I would get anxious around other people's dogs. I've studied my dog long enough to translate his mood with other dogs I would get barked at with no rhyme or reason. I don't know what other people's dogs can do; maybe that's where the fear comes from; some owners would get the hint and tame their pups; others would give the cliché "he doesn't bite" but has teeth on the top and bottom.

I also don't know if dog owners take care of their dog's hygiene. I don't want to bend over to pet Scout and have tons of shed hair on me or be attacked by fleas. You can say that I've been practicing social distancing before it became popular. I know dogs are doing their job to protect their owners, but I wish dogs would understand that I enjoy minding my business, and I'm no threat. After taking an online quiz, it wasn't until last year that I started to like French bulldogs. I chose this dog based on my results from the online quiz.

Anyways

The older I get, the more I want a dog for myself, but then, I want three dogs for myself over time. I need two who would protect me at all times and a possible lap dog who barks big but wouldn't bust a grape in a fruit fight. All three would be certified emotional support dogs because I do have episodes of anxiety and depression. Sometimes it would be nice to keep me busy instead of living in my head. My favorite dog in the whole wide world is pit bulls. I grew up with a few, and they seem to be the happiest dogs I've ever been around. Society has given pit bulls a bad reputation. I don't think the dog breed is the problem; I think the owners who train them to be vicious are the problem. But, what do I know? Based on the dogs we've had, they've never attacked anyone without them feeling like one of us was in danger, and we were never in danger. If I had the money and the space, I would have two male dogs and one female dog. Why? Because I already have names picked out.

Without further ado, here are my roll dogs

Boss

from animal bliss website and pinterest

He's mainly a lover, but he would fight and protect his mom. His aesthetic screams fear, but he's a friendly dog. He always wants my attention. I call him my bodyguard. When I'm in the bathroom, he sits by the door. When I leave the house, he sits by the door. He's a gentleman because he doesn't let me walk on the left side of the sidewalk. He knows that I need space, so he constantly puts a wedge between me and someone I don't know. He loves to fetch, lay by the pool, and run for hours. His name is Boss because he means business. He knows his job is to protect. He does have flaws like chewing on my house slippers and constantly knocking over my indoor plants, but I wouldn't trade him for the world.

Queenie

photo from petpress.com

Boss needs a friend and not any old friend a girlfriend. If he constantly minds his business, he wouldn't be in mine 24/7. I had "the talk" with Boss, so he knows how to treat a lady. I call her Queenie because I'm the queen, and there can only be one. She's considered Queen 2.0. She's so innocent and sweet. Deep down in my spirit, I think Queenie is a hoe. Don't get me wrong, I love her to death, but every time I walk her outside, she's always staring at the boys and wagging her tail in a sassy fashion. If I'm talking to a guy, Queenie rubs up against him to get his attention. Every five minutes, I threaten to take her to the dog pound because she can't respect the girl code. I give Boss more attention and she cusses me out (barking obnoxiously) about staying away from her man. I tried to come to her like a woman on several occasions, but she wasn't trying to hear what I had to say. I say that all to say I love having a love-hate relationship with Queenie. We may argue and bicker, but she will always have my back.

Frenchie

a photo from google images i love the ears

I wanted to be creative with his name. He is my lap dog. I feel the calmest with Frenchie. All he does is lay there unamused about life. He would have this stone face as if he was never interested. I call him the strong silent type. He was my spur-of-the-moment type of purchase. I saw him and bought him with no questions asked. It took him a while to warm up to Boss and Queenie. He tends to act out when the other two are outside running around in the yard. Frenchie's favorite game is hide and seek; he loves to hide under clothes, whether dirty clothes, clean clothes, comforters, or sheets. At times, he can be hyper, but he's calm, relaxed, and collected for the most part. He has a Napoleon complex because he is the smaller dog of the crew; he tends to compete with Queenie and Boss, which is fun to watch. All and all, I enjoy this cute and friendly dog.

I would love to go through the process of purchasing my very first dog. Yesterday, I found myself searching adoption agencies, and I didn't know what I was doing. In my opinion, dogs are the most loyal pets; as long as I provide the necessities, they will go above and beyond for me, which I love the most.

We fly together; we ride together roll dogs for life.

Another note: I know nothing about dogs. When I see these pictures, all I know is that they're pit bulls. I'm sure there are sub-categories like blue nose, red nose, and even bully. I don't know what any of these dogs fall under on the pitbull chart. I know a pretty dog when I see one. Forgive me for my ignorance

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provide feedback, read, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

dog

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    teisha lesheaWritten by teisha leshea

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.