Petlife logo

My Peter Rabbit

the first pet that I kept

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
My Peter Rabbit
Photo by Andreas Schantl on Unsplash

You will be surprised to know that I was in a school where teachers used our energy for their best interest. I belong to backward areas where the education system was not highly developed at that time.

One day my teacher tasked me and the other two guys to deliver a rabbit to the home of our teacher. We as schoolboys followed it and went on the journey happily. On the way to the teacher's home, one of the other two guys suggested playing with the pretty rabbit here near the graveyard. We agreed on it as naughty schoolboys keeping it in mind that we are smart enough to chase and capture the rabbit. But we were not fully aware of the smartness of the rabbit.

Now it was a rabbit to turn to play on us, circling us around him in search of it. In minutes he went to disappear but we were not the persons to lose heart. So we kept on looking for in the cemetery. But failure was destined to us as we were completely green hand in such matters of pets.

Now we were tired and were arguing with each other. The other two guys ended their struggle saying that it was not destined to be delivered to our teacher's home. I was also tired but not willing to quit the mission. They left me there and went back to their own home.

I was about to quit the research when I saw a quick jackal from a far site. It looked like the jackal was trying to predate. I rushed towards the jackal and made a loud noise to make the jackal run away. I approached the site, saw the lost pretty one, our teacher's asset, the rabbit that was jumping became calm after the jackal left.

I thought it would run away if I went closer but I was left with no other options I slowly went close to him and got it. When I caught it I saw that he had some injuries on the body. Maybe that was the reason he didn't run. Now I had two options

1. Get back to school to return to the teacher

2. I should keep it as it was injured and became familiar to me

As you are thinking I considered the second option as the best. It was my first savior and my first interaction with Peter Rabit. I named it here Peter, the Peter from a movie named Peter Rabbit. Like in the movie that Peter also went on a journey tough enough for both. The injured Peter came home with me. I dressed him and he recovered from wounds in three days. At the start, we kept Peter in the cage but sooner he became familiar with the place and people.

Peter and I became friends. Sometimes Peter surprised me by jumping over me when I was lost in study. We prepared a small garden for peter where fruits and vegetables were grown. Peter was supposed to be the owner of the garden. His name was stipulated on the door with the names of other family members. Peter used to live near my room in the small oak. I missed peter a lot in my professional life. A very much busy life where strive for earning leads us far away from nature.

The presence of pets in the home is a blessing. They realized you about nature. Your love for nature becomes higher. You become a careful and peaceful-minded person, beneficial for yourself and for the community.

An addicted lifestyle becomes an active lifestyle.

The sense of responsibility built in me because of keeping the pet at home. I became more punctual and health carer. Before it, I myself was dependent on my parents' deal and demanded the utmost need of care. Now I was grown enough to care for others. So, I would say

'Thank You Peter Rabbit'

rabbit
4

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.