Petlife logo

Your Tommy is Waiting for You

go and get your Pet

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Author's Gallary

I was a person who was extremely fearful of animals especially dogs. But my life took an unexpected turn and I happened to have a pet DOG whom I was extremely afraid of in the past. My story with Tommy went on something like this. Once I was walking home from College and I happened to saw a pitiful-looking dog who was sitting in the shade of a tree. As I was so fearful of dogs I passed by quickly. Then I again saw him the next day. This saw on for a week and I almost saw him daily but after one look, I passed by quickly, afraid of being bitten by him.

Then, one day as I passed by him, he started following me. I was afraid to death of being chased by a dog. But he didn't do anything and just kept following me till I reached home. From then onward, he always followed me like that, and I also became quite used to it. It felt like having your own personal bodyguard. I was becoming less afraid of dogs than I was in the past, but it was still not quite enough to pet or cuddle a dog suddenly.

I told my Mom about this and she instantly became happy and encouraged me to give him something to eat. Actually, I am the lonely and shy type of child of my parents, so they are always worried about me for having no friends. But they felt pleasant when I told them about the dog as they knew that I was so scared of dogs, but I didn’t say anything about being chased by the dog for almost half a month.

As Mom suggested, I timidly tried to give him a loaf of bread to eat from afar. I felt pleased when he ate the loaf of bread. From then onwards, I started giving him food daily. I liked to spend time with him. I accidentally pat him once and thank God he didn’t become aggressive and bit me. Instead, he liked it. I also felt quite happy spending my time with him.

One day when I was on my way home from college, I didn’t see him and became extremely anxious. Then, I saw some kids bullying him with a stick and he looked helpless. I furiously rushed towards those hooligans and admonish them. I warned them if I saw them doing this kind of thing with anyone again, I’ll complain to their parents. They quickly retreated and I took the dog home with me. This was the first time I let him inside the house. I applied for some medicine for his wound and gave him some meat.

I told my mother that I wanted to keep this dog as my pet and she immediately agreed. I named that dog “Tommy” and now he was not homeless anymore. I found a life full of waves of laugh when I used to be with Tommy. I played with him all day long. He was my best friend. I thought it was my day when he chased me. I didn't know why he did this, but I was thankful as now I also found a best friend. He is very obedient. Though sometimes he put me in a lot of trouble, like when I tried to bathe him.

I know that he loves me too because whenever I come back home after College, I find him sitting in the same position before I left, waiting anxiously for me to come back. He’s such an innocent and docile creature and now I can’t imagine my life without him.

Love for pets is natural in humans. Fear is an acquired thing. Fear of unseen things is countered by the encounter of that thing. Keeping a pet as Tommy provides you a life full of joys and happiness. Stress and Tension of all-day work quickly vanish when you see your beloved Tommy waiting for you at the entrance.

dog
1

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.