Petlife logo

My Little Man Daymon

His Introduction

By Ahowan ICrowPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
And that is exactly what this little man did to get into my home to win my heart.

One day I receive a call during what could be called my lunch hour. Being the owner-operator of a K-9 Bed & Breakfast and Doggie Daycare which was based upon and paid for rescue, rehabilitation, and rehoming of mostly domestic animals, there was not a lot of 'personal time;' however, that in itself was a big part of my personal transformation, time management; however, my personal transformation is another subject and for another time.

This personal transformation is what ultimately precipitated this call, and the little chihuahua, dachshund mix that was to come through my front office door soon enough.

"There's this little puppy, not more than 4 months old, has these huge ears and the moment I saw him, I thought of you. This is your dog, I just know this is your dog," said my prayer practitioner, Ginger.

My reply, "I have seven dogs & cats now! I cannot possibly take another in. My husband will divorce me!" The moment those words came out of my mouth, I heard what I was saying, "Oh wait, I have already asked for a divorce! Half the animals are his." The reply, "I know this is your dog. You need to go get this pup. He has you written all over him. I already told the Dog Warden that this pup is yours and you will be calling. I would head there right now."

Well, being a business owner with about 20-30 dogs counting on me at the 'Dog House,' My response was, "I do not have the time right now. I must get back to the Dog House." Ginger keeps insisting saying, "I can see if they will allow me to call in his adoption fee for you right now if you would like. I know he is yours."

I know from the two years that Ginger and I have been working together that when she knows that she knows, she knows. So, my response to her was that I would make a few phone calls as soon as I got back to the Dog House to inquire if anyone is willing to go to the shelter for me and if the Dog Warden would allow someone to the whole process for me.

Having a close working relationship with the Animal Shelter we both agreed that there would not be an issue. Before I knew it there were actually three people en route to go the adoption fee and bring this terrified 4-month-old Chiweenie to me. I actually had to call two of them off! It was then that I had no doubt that no matter what he must be mine, if nothing else, to at least work with him to have him be adoptable.

My client arrives at the door and somehow using the leash with this brown-black, big-eared Chiweenee practically thrashing through the door and we get it closed. I share with her to drop the leash and let's let him be.

She states that she is honored to have gotten him here, she was happy to assist, hopes he will be fine and that I will be okay with him; however, "I gotta go." I respond, "Absolutely, I am grateful you could do this and I am sure we will be fine."

What I know from what the Dog Warden shared is that they picked this little guy up in an alley. Actually, they had to trap him because he is a good runner and totally frightened. All we can access is that he must have been beaten, abused, or tortured in some way because a hand or foot comes near or something gets dropped, he loses all control of his urine and bowels, squeals, growls, and bites furiously.

So, here I am with 20-30 dogkids (what I call them) turned loose just outside this office door all wondering who the 'new kid' is, and a pup that I cannot touch (at least till I make sure that his eliminations are empty) and he has a leash attached to him. I surely do not want his first experience with me to be a challenge.

So, I offer a prayer, leave the leash on knowing I am right here to intervene if necessary, and I step out to calm and confine a few of the dogkids so it is not quite so overwelming.

Wow, what a surprise. This adorable little chiweenee went running out and became an entertaining hit! That was it, and when he ran into the bush to play hide-n-seek, the leash slipped right off. He shot out of the bush and the next chase match began.

Even more remarkable, as this pup watched all the other dogs go flying into their crates for quiet time before dinner, he went peacefully and joyously into his like he had been here all along. Now, for that first stroke on his silky black shiny coat and oh how I want to touch those adorable ears.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.