Petlife logo

My imaginary cat

You are real to me

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My imaginary cat
Photo by Kanashi on Unsplash

Hi friend!

I would have loved you so much!

But, the sneezing, the coughing, the headaches, the runny eyes, the runny nose and the days spent on the couch medicated with allergy teas and pills, the misery of the confounded allergies, kept me from being a part of your loving caresses.

How I dream of, and imagine you meeting me at the door when I finally get home from a long day at work and a quick workout at the gym. You would nuzzle at my feet, purring ever so gently, aching for attention and a gentle embrace. I would lovingly reach down to pick you up, offer a gentle hug and a kiss on your cold wrinkly nose, your funny whiskers tickling my nose, making me sneeze.

As I shower and get comfortable, you sit atop my bed, head slanted sideways wondering why the human person insists on standing under running water all the time. You think it is annoying being wet all the time. I know how you hate baths, and I am always a little damp after a frightful water fight trying my best to keep you smelling fresh as morning dew.

I named you Katt. You pouted and would not acknowledge me for a while. Not an original name, I imagine you thought. It is an actually good and solid name for a cat. The name grew on you and eventually you accepted that it kind of suited you perfectly.

We are best friends again!

By Nikola Bačanek on Unsplash

It is now time to eat. While I fix myself a quick meal, I open a can of your favorite dinner, served in your dainty pink kitty bowl. Water by your side you have your gourmet meal while I slave away at the stove. Would that you had hands to assist. I know, you think that I am funny. Why would a cat want to cook, toil and sweat over a hot stove. Not very dainty at all. I wiggle my nose at you and have a silly laugh.

You disappear and I know that you are having a go in your litter box. Such a kind and considerate kitty cat, keeping everything where they should be. Soon you come strutting back, head held high, proud to be a thoughtful member of our happy household.

We cuddle on the couch after dinner, watching the news and some silly television shows which make us laugh.

Soon, you get bored with the TV people and head over to sharpen your claws and play awhile by yourself. That is ok, I take no offense, everyone needs their alone time.

By Petrebels on Unsplash

It is now time for a quiet evening walk before bed. I open the door and you come pit patting to my side. You are a wise and smart kitty and you walk by my side happily confident in the knowledge that all is well with the world. You run ahead, chasing the odd butterfly that chances by, or the funny bugs that come to enquire about who we are and what we are doing infringing on their open spaces. You jump upon everything that presents a quick perch, walls, bins, mounds of earth and weird looking oddities of decorations.

You never stray far from me. You never run away, at least not very far enough so I would worry. I stop to exchange a few words with a friend or two and you stay close as if protecting me from unknown harm or danger. Whenever a friend comes to visit and sits on my couch, you sit and stare, unblinking , as if asking, "who are you, and why are you here anyway", funny kitty, you are not my only friend.

You are, however, my best friend. Always there, faithful and caring.

I so wish you were real my friend. So many lucky people enjoying the real you. Soon though, I hope that we can have a real cat to person relationship. I am looking forward to that day.

Until then, we are happy in our imaginary world.

Katt and I.

N.A.

cat
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely imaginary pet story. Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.