Petlife logo

My Dog, Shirlee

I cherish every moment that I have with my loving dog, Shirlee.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Dogs bring hearts to our lives. Most especially, my loving dog, Shirlee.

Shirlee is a Peek-a-Poo. No, it’s not that little game you like to play with your child. She is a miniature half Pekinese and half Poodle. To me, she is like no other dog that I have owned. Compared to other dogs she has a distinct personality, is energetic, but I would love to talk about her incredible love for us all. It’s clear that she holds a lot of love for us all and she cherishes every day whether it's being inside or going for a walk around the neighborhood.

The first day I met her, Shirlee met a ton of faces at my softball game. She was so small that she could fit inside my glove! In an instant, Shirlee started licking my face feeling an instant connection with me. That’s what I love about her. She sees people for who they are knowing who is good and the people who she is not fond of.

Twelve years later, Shirlee still has the heart of a puppy. Just from witnessing her incredible energy and enthusiasm, nobody believes that Shirlee is twelve when I tell them. Shirlee loudly screeches whenever it is time to go for a walk around the neighborhood, excitedly jumping around. It is her favorite word.

When Shirlee was a puppy she’d race all around the table in the dining room like a bolt of lightning. She loves to be the center of attention an oftentimes gets in the way.

Shirlee has instincts about people. She knows if they are a dog lover and understands if this person isn’t so fond of dogs. Shirlee has a different connection with everyone. I adore how she runs up to greet the person, licking their leg, welcoming them. And she knows how to chase someone off who she doesn’t like. (A.K.A The Mailmen)

Shirlee has a way of greeting people. Taking a stuffed toy from the overflowing basket of gifts that we have spoiled her with, she’ll squeak it against the person’s leg until she has their full attention. I have never met another dog who loves playing like Shirlee. It takes her a bit to get used to strangers but eventually, she comes around, will give a tiny kiss, and the next time she sees them she’ll remember.

Dogs are so adorable! That means that you want to give them all the attention they deserve even to the point of squeezing their hearts out and kissing them. Don’t do that. It is okay to show affection, but dogs need to be independent. Let them do what they want to do. At times I tend to be a helicopter dog-parent with Shirlee because I want to know where she is at all times. She is also so huggable. Give your dog their own space and let them explore.

I will forever cherish Shirlee’s love for us all. Every morning I look forward to waking up and coming down the stairs and I call out to Shirlee. Sprinting in from the living room, she stands on her hind legs, dancing around, and yaps hysterically as if she has not seen me in a hundred years.

One time, after I had this incident at work where I hurt my nose when I had returned home and relayed everything that happened to my family members, the moment I sat down on the couch Shirlee came up to me and licked my nose to make everything better.

Shirlee’s love for us all means the world to me. She understands. I will forever cherish that moment because it was during a stressful week and made me realize that I need to take better care of myself, especially mental health. Dogs make you realize your person.

I cherish every moment that I have with my loving dog.

dog
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.