Petlife logo

My Dog is the Greatest Rescue Dog I've Ever Owned.

Yes, She is a Blue Pittbull.

By Regina BrooksPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

I have rescued only a few dogs in my lifetime. So, I cannot say I have a lifetime of dogs to judge by, but for all the dogs I have owned in my life, my Blue Pitt Bull is the best dog I have ever owned. She is the best not because she is the best-looking dog, but because she is the smartest. I know everyone seems to want a Pitt Bull nowadays. They seem to be the breed that is over breed and the breed that is oversold. Why? Why are people over breeding Pitt Bulls? I didn't understand this until I got one. Honestly, I didn't know what the hype was until I got one. They are so sweet and the most beautiful dogs. I will say she is the most protective too.

Obviously, they have muscle. My Pitt will walk out the door when I have her on the leash for her daily walk, and she scares everyone we pass. Why? I'm thinking it's because of her muscles are huge. She is overpowering and it does kind of seem scary to other people. It's not. It's just her. Also, She loves people. And it's the bad stereotype that we have out in this world.

My dog is a blue Pitt that is named Sky Bear. She was named Sky which is obvious because of the Sky above us and Bear because she is a Teddy Bear. I want to speak up for all the other Blue Pitts out there that do not have a voice or a home because of this irrational stereotype we have of dogs and aggressive dogs that has been going around.

You know, I will not name names, but I have called an apartment complex to see if they were pet friendly. This apartment complex was not close to where I currently live or in the state I live in now. What I don't understand is when they say, they are pet friendly but not to a certain breed. When I called this certain apartment complex, they WOULD have ALL breeds EXCEPT the PittBull breed. Even other aggressive breeds were okay, just not the PittBull breed. I did not understand how a city could pose a "law" (if they did) that apartments could not open up to Pittbulls or to those breeds. I don't know if that is what happened, but I have to ask, was there an ordinance? Why would all the apartments not lease to anyone that had Pitt bulls? Again, I asked about other aggressive breeds, and those were okay. It was confusing, just saying.

Anyway, I am going to touch on the history of the Pitt Butt. First, the Pitt is the Bulldog and the Terrier mixed together to make the Pittbull. Also, the PittBull is known to be a "Nanny Dog" which is a protective character over children. The Pitt bull dog would watch over kids and protect them as their own.

There are many types of Pitt Bull names and types. I will only name a few because there are so many. I praise them all and think they are all so great. Again, they are between the American Bulldog, and the Terrier dog to make a great Pittbull or the Ameri can Pitt Bull. American Staffordshire Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bulldog, and the Staffordshire Bull Terrier. There is a red nose and a blue nose Pitt bull. I have a blue nose Pitt bull and she is the most gentle and sweetest dog. She is the smartest dog I have ever owned. I write this in hopes of trying to clear the stereotype of hate towards the aggressive types and towards the Pitt Bull dogs. Pitt Bulls range in a lot of breeds. Stop the hate, change it to love and open our doors.

My mom was attacked by a Rottweiler. I do not hate Rottweilers. I grew up with them at my dad's house. I knew about how they were. As a kid, I had to stay away from one Rottweiler and that was it. My dad breed Rottweilers....there were Rotwellers everywhere in his house and outside his house. He had one that was my favorite who was named Charlie. But not to get off the subject. My point is that it's still an aggressive breed and they were all nice...., well, except one. They knew that I could not play with that dog. They knew that they kept that dog trained and away from kids. It's how you keep your pets and how you train them. That one never came around me nor did I go around him and he never tried to attack me. He knew better because he was trained not to. I never went around him to antagonize him either.

Some people are scared of Pittbull dogs because they have heard stories of them being vicious. I am happy that the stereotype of them is starting to disappear. More and more people are seeing that Pitts is a smart, kind, gentle, and loving breed of dog. My Pitt Bull is the most loving and gentle dog I have ever owned. She snorts like a pig, which is so cute. One of her many knick names is Fattie then there is Pig, because of her many snorting sound ways. She lies in the walkway and expects everyone to move around her. She is a PittBull carpet. Honestly, that is one trait that drives me crazy is her not moving out of my way.

Pitt bulls are known for drooling. She did have a bad habit of drooling all over herself. We would have to wipe her drool off herself and the floor. The spot was so wet, it was like she had an accident. She is potty-trained and was at a young age. She knows tricks like sit, stay, and paw. Also, she knows the trick down, Of course, she will do some by command but with treats, it goes more smoothly.

I write this article to show people that Pittbulls are a loving breed. They are a smart breed as well too. I want to help clear the stereotype against them and clean it up. Thanks for reading. :-)

trainingdogbreedsadoption
Like

About the Creator

Regina Brooks

Freelance writer, dog lover, and working on my bachelor's degree in Psych at Uni of Phoenix. I love recycling. I try to make the environment a better place. I believe in positivity and showing others a smile instead of negativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Regina Brooks is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.