Petlife logo

My Pitt

Sky

By Regina BrooksPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sky

I have the best dog. She is such a queen too. Oh, I didn't tell you she is a 75lb lap dog. She is hyper yet she lays around as she snores. She loves to play too. She goes to the words, "Go Sky, Go!" as I clap. She will run and run around the couch and try to play with our other dog which isn't a Pitt but a Terrier mix.

My Pitt Bull's name is Sky I guess because she is blue I reckon. She was a drop-off or what is known today as a rescue dog because I kept her. Also, I kept her name because it goes well with her breed. She was never claimed or recovered. I took her into my home and straight to the vet. She was only 12 weeks old when she was dropped off.

The sad thing about Pitt Bulls is they get the bad rap because of their breed. You wouldn't believe this or maybe you might, but I was apartment hunting or looking around at one time in my life. I called several apartments in one city which was a major populated city. They told me at the time they do NOT take Pitt Bulls at all even if it is in their breed. I asked about other breeds, they said that was fine, just not Pitt Bulls. I thought that was crazy. I asked if it was okay if I has a rottweiler? That was fine. My point in telling you this is that Pitt Bulls just get a bad rap probably because of their history. I haven't been apartment hunting in a long time so it might be different now. I hope it is better.

I took my Pitt to the park one time and a lady ran off, like literally ran to her car and left the park looking back at us scared. Now, it kind of makes me sad that she was that way. I wish she had a chance to meet us, to pet Sky. It might have made whatever fears that she has a little bit better. I'm just thinking as I am writing this, I should take Sky more to the park and to PetSmart to let people see her.

blue-nose Pitt off internet (free) is so cute as a puppy! not Sky

Pitt Bulls are a bully breed and they are scary if you are not educated. If the Pitt bull is bred to fight then yes, I would be scared too. Honestly, I don't know if it is just Pitt Bulls that are being bred to fight anymore these days. My mom for one was bit pretty bad one time by a rottweiler. She went to the emergency room. The dog is fine but my mom was messed up for a little while and trauma messed her up mentally. She warmed up to Sky eventually but it took a little bit.

In another story, I for one was bit by a half rottweiler and half Doberman. I was very small and playing with the dog the wrong way. The dog kept growling at me to leave him alone which I kept ignoring. I had to be rushed to the emergency room. However, I was fine. My dad bred rottweilers as I grew up. He taught me to realize the signs they give as a warning. He taught me some dogs are more gentle than others. They are dogs. So if they growl at you to stop or leave them alone...leave them alone. Also, the biggest thing I have learned being around dogs all my life is you do not show fear ever.

Sky

I don't mean to sound like dogs are a bad choice in a pet. They are innocent as puppies. As I have grown up around them, they have their instincts but they are also going to be how they are trained. My dogs are the most gentle dogs ever however if you step on my property they bark like they will rip you to pieces. They scared the FedEx lady the other day when she was delivering a package. This brings me to a very positive point that they are great guard dogs. My dogs will not bite anyone but I sure will know when someone is on my property.

Sky is a Pitt Bull which is a mix of bulldogs and terriers. There is a bunch of mix of Pitt Bulls types. There is the American Pitt Bull Terrier, Blue Nose Pitt Bull, Red Nose Pitt Bull, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bully, and there are probably other Pitt Bull breeds that I might be leaving out but these are the most.

Extra info

I play rough with her and not too rough kind of like we are wrestling. She is the best dog I have ever owned. I got her at 12 weeks old. She was shaking so hard almost out of her skin. She is now like a lap dog or she thinks it with so much love in our family.

Pitt Bulls are orignally from the United Kingdom. They were bred as fighting dogs in their past and were also "Nanny" dogs as well. Pitt Bulls gained recognition in 1935 by The Kennel Club in the United Kingdom and England. Pitt Bulls got their recognition of their American breed name by the American Kennel Club in 1972 being named the American Staffordshire Terrier according to Wikipedia.

both of my dogs...blue-nose Pitt and Mix Terrier (both are rescues)

Unfortunately, they are still being bred to fight underground. Also, they are overbred for puppies to sell. I have seen some blue-nose Pitt bulldogs that were overbred and thrown out in shelters.

Pitt Bulls do have a tendency of having skin problems. I know mine has skin allergies and I mean bad skin allergies. To own a dog you have to own them like family. I give her a skin allergy shot from her veterinarian. You need to reward dogs with treats with good behavior. Please keep your dog on a leash! Just saying I don't know how many times I've seen dogs not on leashes.

Sky makes me so happy. She is such a great dog. She is the best dog I have ever owned in my life. I would keep getting Pitt Bull dogs because she has proven to me how smart she is.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Regina Brooks

Freelance writer, dog lover, and working on my bachelor's degree in Psych at Uni of Phoenix. I love recycling. I try to make the environment a better place. I believe in positivity and showing others a smile instead of negativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.