Petlife logo

My Dog Charlie

The Fearless Stalker

By a.a.gallagherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Dog Charlie
Photo by Ilona Frey on Unsplash

I once had a dog...... a dog called Charlie. She was a big, beautiful, gentle, smart Rhodesian ridgeback whom we all totally adored, despite her errant ways.

When my boys and I get together we all have "Charlie" stories; I guess a lot of people have a truly special animal in their lives who holds the key to much remembered and enjoyed fun and laughter. Well, this is probably the first of many Charlie stories so while being one of the funniest it is also one of the worst! It was in fact an excruciatingly embarrassing moment in time!

Charlie (Charlotte) was exceptionally hard to keep inside the backyard. She was extraordinarily strong and would barrel through, and I mean literally straight through anything that barred her way to whatever adventure she had in mind for the day. So, it got to the stage where (pre restrictive dog laws) I would let her out for a romp at about 5.30 am and call her back at about 6.00 am before the runners hit the streets. She knew the rules and would often be back in the front garden just before 6.00 am in time for her breakfast.

This particular morning, I looked out the upstairs window to see our fearless lion dog stalking someone/something unknown on the other side of the hedge. She was slinking along the inside of the trees and the hedges keeping a close eye on what? - I could not quite see what interested her so intensely.

But it turned out that her “prey" was an unsuspecting jogger. Quite obviously she thought he was a lion, and she was doing her duty by the family keeping the enemy at bay - silently.

The odd glimpse of the jogger showed him to be dressed most finely in pristine white shorts, beautiful expensive jogging shoes, and a crisp white top, the same as the ones with the crocodile motif, I think they are Ralph Lauren, or could that be La Crosse - I will have to wait for the man of the house to return so that I can ask him and make the appropriate correction. He also had on expensive wraparound sunglasses while also plugged into an iPod. Quite the athletic dandy now I come to think about it. So, there he was jogging along minding his own business whilst being totally unaware that out of his eye range (but not mine) there was this dog very stealthily stalking him.

Whilst I knew there was no way she would hurt him I was nearly dying with embarrassment because I knew that short of opening the window and waking up the entire neighbourhood there was nothing I could do. I was upstairs, too far away and time was running out. Then she struck. Straight out of the bushes, through the trees she went, shooting up behind him - and goosed him right up those beautifully ironed creases to where the sun does not shine - he yelled loudly and took off at speed while Charlie went in opposite direction shooting home as fast as she could; literally sailing over the back fence.

I just hoped the fearless jogger would not turn around to see where she lived. Thankfully, he did not, which meant I was not on the receiving end of a justified cross knock on the front door.

But by the time I picked myself up off the floor and got downstairs to let her in I swear she was laughing fit to bust. To the best of my knowledge this particular jogger did not pursue his athletic endeavours in our street again.

Something I never could understand.

dog
1

About the Creator

a.a.gallagher

Thank you for reading my words and for following me. I am a collector of stories. I also write to try and explain life's happenings to myself. I write poems about the environment, climate change plus fun rhymes aimed at young kids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.