Petlife logo

My cat

How I love his goofy ways

By Johann HollarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

This here is my little Davy.

On September 28, 2014, I found this little bundle of joy as a stray outside Grace Lutheran Church in my hometown of St. Paul, Minnesota.

He was only two months old at the time I found him.

When I was playing with him outside the church, I was sitting in an Easy Pose position and when I put him between my legs, he was rolling around, climbing up and down me, occasionally cuddling into my legs. It was cute.

At the time, me and family were discussing giving him up for adoption to a shelter because nobody at church would take him in.

Later that day my family made the decision that would forever change our lives.

We decided to keep him.

It was my sister's idea to name him David after the actor David Tennet because of how we found him at Grace Lutheran and that David Tennet was in the short-lived series named Gracepoint.

We had three other cats living with us at the time. A Shorthair named Precious, an Orange Tabby named Chester and a Black Cat named Max. It took them awhile for them to get used to him. I remember one time Davy jumped onto Max and it freaked Max out. It was so adorable.

There was this time when my sister was making some kind of desert that had pumpkin in it, when Davy jumped off the fridge and landed paws first into the mixing bowl. Some of the pumpkin got over the counter and some on me and my sister, but most of it was on his paws. My sister was like "baby!!!!" cause that's what she calls little Davy some times and that was before I took him to the bathroom to wash his paws off. Davy hated the idea of me washing his paws off in the tub.

There was also this time when I was coming into the living room and he was there. What I did not expect him to do was that he jumped twice on his hind legs and grabbed onto my leg. It was the cutest thing he ever did.

As one would expect from a kitten, he would on occasion climb up my pants, then up my shirt and right onto my shoulder. His claws of course stung like hell as you would expect, but it was still the most priceless moments for me and my little buddy.

On the steps that went downstairs, near the washer and dryer, Davy would lay on the steps and sometimes I would tap my fingers on it and he would bat at my fingers with his paws. Sometimes he'd get me with his paws, but that was what made it fun.

Nowadays his ways are not as goofy as when he was a kitten, but he still manages to act goofy.

Sometimes, whether the days be cold or just plain wet, he would sit next to the door and cry, as if he was saying "let me out" but me and family members say something like "It's too cold out" or "You're going to get wet boy." Sometimes I just let him out so that he can experience it for himself and then he immediately regrets it.

Then of course there are times when he's sleeping on my chair and when I am petting him, he wants to climb onto my left or right arm. Like him climbing me when he was a kitten, he nails sting my flesh of course, but at least I get to boop his head with mine.

In the end, I would never give up my little Davy for anything.

adoption
2

About the Creator

Johann Hollar

I had attended Minnesota State University Mankato where I received my Bachelors in History with a Minor in Philosophy. I currently work at the Woodbury Village Target as a Stocker when I am not writing you all such interesting stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.