Petlife logo

My Boss with Four Paws

You were the best Boss Ever

By BChanArtsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Chud Ei investigating my work outfit

Since the beginning, she has stuck by my side. Even once I gained the strength to leave my boyfriend at the time, having a football-sized benign tumor removed, many bad relationships, and thru so many tears.

The day I met her was the day I decide to give a cat home and the newspaper proved the information I needed. She was brought over with her siblings in a carrier and as I looked deeply into her orange brothers’ eyes, she jumped out and hid. They say a Cat chooses its owner; we got along the day after.

Moments of letting me know that my boyfriend was bad for me, still by my side when I took him back. She sat with me as I tried to even make the money I could on the side with my drawings. Watched me draw my art but also distracting me with trying to eat my pen.

A turtle shelled calico, named her Chud Ei. She made me laugh when she decided to come into the room and randomly gets herself into attack mode and runs out. The zoomies began and I never knew zoomies were so hilarious when it was done by a feline. She was so adventurous and treated me with love but judged me well. Letting me know when she was disappointed in the things I said or did. Chud Ei also stayed close when I cried long hours after finding out I had a miscarriage. Her purrs were comforting, her paws to my arm or cheek as to let me know she was there for me. I went thru 5 miscarriages during this time and after the yr. 8 hit, she and I left the guy who treated her badly. It was the last straw when he threw her.

She and I began a new life together as I got a job as a janitor. Coming home, late at night. Tired and sore, she'd come up to me demanding treats and so the demands were met. There were times when she wanted me to hold her as I drew at my desk. Arms stretched out, her meows loud enough for me to hear. Picking her up and cradling her like a baby which she enjoyed! She purrs loud, her head tilting towards my chest as she looked up at me, scratching her head. This was her way of saying, “take a break, relax” and so I would comply.

Each new drawing I finished, would bring a small amount of payment, yes but also more of her staring into my eyes and blinking. Her “I love you” would also lead to her and I arguing. “No, the layer is fine where it is” I'd remark and she would of course give me a comment by telling me the layer was in the wrong place. Come to find out, most of the time, it was in the wrong place and so moving that layer either up high or below. She knew my art program more than I did! Her nods of approval when I followed her critique meant the world to me.

Relationships were always problematic, and she knew it too. I should have followed her word on each relationship but I was so stupid about them. She would swat at each man who has come into my life and I allowed each one to distract me from my job/workplace. Chud Ei would complain to me about their dress, posture, even the smell. Having to communicate with her in each relationship was difficult but worth knowing she was only protecting me. Even when it came to blind dates, she would give me advice on how to handle the situation. It was great but... knocking over my drink was not something I was ready for.

Changes were made to my workplace and so I had to draw in the evening. Chud Ei was not ready for any of the changes and so expressed again how messed up my drawings were getting. Explaining the customers wanted such... Not Safe For Work images was my job. Chud Ei would sit and think. She would get quiet. Have I offended her? Had the customer offended her? She would stay quiet whenever a customer brought in such a request. It just gave me more reason to get her the best treats and toys I could get her. Did this please her? I hope it did.

Lunchtime was eventful as this time would bring arguments back up. Chud Ei demanded nuggets, but I would have no money. She couldn't understand! Yelling at me, telling me we were rich and had to have nuggets that day. That moment was VERY important to her! I was such a terrible owner/worker. Sitting down with her, I had to explain the truth. Had to explain that we weren't what she thought. Had no money for my food, not even to enjoy a sit down at a restaurant to bring her leftovers! I couldn't keep myself from crying but she seemed to understand after I told her that I made sure she had all her food. Made sure she had wet food available at all times.

Years passed and we both worked together with the best we could. 2021 was a year I thought things would be great! Sadly, changes were made that I was not ready for. The friends I had who helped me when able turned away from me, as did the man I thought I would be with forever. Chud Ei was... had lost a lot of weight and kept away from me as I worked. I didn't fire her. She was my boss...

She passed away...

Chud Ei was my best employer and she stayed with me for almost 20 years. Things are still pretty bad, but I try to keep going. She'd want me to.

cat
1

About the Creator

BChanArts

This Artist wanted to try Writing for a change.

I do hope I am doing alright. A lot of my writings will be a lot of personal and vent type of stories. I'm an open book about what I draw so I might as well write about myself...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.