Petlife logo

Mr.Spooky the Retired Persian

Rescued each other during a global pandemic

By Natasha CollazoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
2

My cat Bailey passed away last year during the start of the pandemic. I was fortunate enough to have the privilege and opportunity to work from during his last few days. Terrible things happen in the world around us daily, but one thing I’ve learned is you can always find the fruit in a dark season. One being, how grateful I was because of this awful pandemic, I got to be home with my boy during his final hours.

A year later the pandemic is still in effect and I have now worked from home for over a year and a half. But with that being said, it was lonely. My space was empty and not having my cat of fifteen years with me the home was very hallow. It was a feeling of dread. As the time went by I started to falter, in my mental health, unknowingly. Passions faded away and I noticed I didn’t really enjoy much. Television and microwave dinners summed up my weeknights.

I joined a facebook group where people listed free pets daily. Every day I would get a notification of a new fur baby - so many! I could never choose, they all needed homes.

One day I received a notification of another free cat. But this time, I couldn’t put my phone down. The moment I saw him, I didn’t think twice. I didn’t care how old, I didn’t care what the story was, if he was fixed or not, had fleas, worms or whatever! I knew I’d take care of all his issues if I was picked to have this cat.

This cat was black with orange eyes, a Persian grumpy faced Halloween spooky cat! He had all the thrills of Frankenstein.

I was obsessed.

Though, I had my concerns as to why they were giving him up I knew I wanted him. You see, most of these animals being given away at no cost is usually because of a behavioral issue or underlining health issue. But again, I was ready to take it on. He was my dream cat.

The comments poured in and I was probably the twelfth one down.

“Oh, she’s not gonna pick me!”

I sent her a private message and she immediately messaged back saying he was still available and that I could come get him the very next day! Of course I agreed but also asked all about all the details. She stated he was a two year old cat not fixed, and that she was leaving the country and couldn’t take him with. Sounds legit right?

The next day I opened my home to a new Persian two-year old boy! Young enough to get fixed and break the habit of spraying. He sprayed the entire place for the first two weeks. After he settled in, I made the appointment to get him neutered.

And neutered he was, with a little surprise. Come to find out, the vet informed me that he was not two. This cat was a senior and pushing over eight years-plus! I was concerned, but not turned off. Concerned as to why they’d lie. The only thing I could come up with and yes, it’s a sad theory but it’s the only one that makes sense, is that he was breeded for money and that’s why they didn’t want him anymore and that’s why he’s old and not fixed. He was no longer useful. But I fell more inlove with the fact that he was actually an old man. Poor thing went his whole life and now has to adjust to another person.

Well Charlie, aka Mr.Spooky became MY old man for good! He was the perfect cat for me. He’s retired, and by the looks of it he worked his whole entire life until meeting me. Now, he’s my work companion.

Having Charlie to care for since the loss of Bailey and the pandemic depression he really was my emotional support pet. Getting up in the morning got a little easier and decorating my apartment with new cat juju really made the house feel like a home again. Now, as I sit at my desk Charlie accompanies me. He likes to greet me in the mornings by sitting on the edge of my desk and watch me log on. On my breaks we have coffee together on the porch.

Charlie was my motivation to not only give him a happy new life with all that he’s been through but he motivated me to be passionate about life again as well. Again, taking a not-so-pleasant situation and finding the fruit in it. With Charlie’s age it was motivating to make sure he has the best end.

Charlie is now totally adjusted and really my new best friend. He’s funny and entertaining that I felt he needed to have his own Instagram because he is seriously a ham and just that special. I was never one of those people who would make an account for their pet but Charlie was a retired senior with way too much personality, and so I figured- what the heck!

He’s giving me something to brag about and though his story remains unknown, he will not.

You can follow Charlie at @mr_spooky_charlie

cat
2

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

Werewolf Writer

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night.

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.