Petlife logo

Mr Boof - Chief Happiness Officer at Kerst Estates

How one dog bought light and love into a growing family and taught his humanthe meaning of life.

By Anna KerstPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2021
5
Chief Happiness Officer at the local Christmas Party

I was only a few weeks pregnant with my first child when the world came to a grinding halt. A novel coronavirus from China was ravaging the world and we all bunkered in place to wait and watch to see what would happen.

What happened was a collective lockdown to prevent a health crisis with a dash of collective mental health crisis as the result.

I was working from home on a small remote acreage. The first week was bliss - stillness for my first trimester fatigue. The second week was more stillness with a deep restlessness and despair brewing. The fifth week I meet the DSM-V criteria for major depression.

I was not prepared for the stress of trying to power on through severe morning sickness and absolute brain and body fatigue. I was not coping with my inability to think, to do my job, as well as being in complete isolation with the lack of community due to COVID restrictions. The downward spiral was gaining momentum.

At 3 months pregnant the borders between NSW and Victoria had only just opened up when a FB post came up from some friends of friends that lived near Melbourne - Sale dropped through on a Chocolate Labrador puppy - delivery in 2 days, PM to get the little fella.

We had no fence, no dog bed, nothing set up for an animal, yet I shouted Me Me Me Me.

Within an hour I had officially agreed to take on a puppy. I had to wait until my husband was on his way to work the next day before I broke the news that I would be travelling to Melbourne the next day to take possession of the newest member of our growing pack. Needless to say he wasn't happy, however, he is also a smart man. I think he heard that off-twang slightly dangerous tone in his pregnant hormonal wife's voice because he did not put up much of a fight.

The trip to get our newest member was draining and long and the happiest road trip of my life.

Mr Boof on his first road trip to his new home

It was love at first sight and already my heart was feeling lighter.

As the Chief Happiness Officer, Boof's role was to ensure that his human:

  • Went outside in the sunshine a few times a day
  • Went walkies for fun and health
  • Laughed every day, and
  • Was prepared for having a baby by peeing and pooing everywhere and putting everything inside his mouth

As time went on, the CHO also helped out in the home office.

Helping with the shredding

Keeping mums toes warm

Needless to say, he is very good at his job. Until Boof, I never realised how little I laughed during the day. His enthusiasm for life is so over the top that it spreads into everyone near him. He truly deserves the title of Chief Happiness Officer.

Yet he knew something more was coming. He knew his true job hadn't started yet.

Snuggling his little sister

6 months after being hired, Boof was promoted to CHO and Creche Supervisor. He absolutely loved his new role which included looking after a baby, letting baby annoy him, annoy baby back, licks when mum isn't watching, and lots of cuddles.

Mr Boof on the job

Mr Boof about to put in a HR complaint

Mr Boof looking at the time to see when his shift is over

Mr Boof and his little human sleeping on the job

Boof has been the best EmPAWyee ever hired. He keeps me company when working at home alone, he makes sure all his humans have enough exercise, he herds us into the sun, and he makes everyone laugh.

Yes, I am know one of those humans that refers to her dog, as he fur baby.

Sometimes, I really do feel like Boof and Zoe are brother and sister. The way they communicate to one another, annoy one another, and generally cause mischief. They both are food obsessed and will beg for food if you are eating.

My absolute favourite team bonding meeting is sitting on the lawn in the afternoon sun. Boof will find a good stick and bring it over. Zoe will promptly steal it and wave it around. Boof will watch for his moment to scoop back in and steal it. Zoe will crawl after him. Boof will keep moving away until he drops it and waits for Zoe to get it. Zoe will then wave it around and the process will repeat.

Watching my fur son and my young daughter bond has been the most magical phenomena of my life. I have never witnessed such an intense bond of love. They truly do communicate in ways that we adults can not comprehend. Boof has soo much love, that even though he is 100% Zoe's dog now, he still loves his human mum. I still enjoy morning snuggles on the lounge. I still get the privilege of him following me up into my office whilst he destroys a toilet roll pinched from the bathroom. I still get the burst of love when he snuggles at my feet whilst I type away at the keyboard.

The downward spiral I was going down in my pregnancy soon started spiraling upwards. My life is full of light and laughter and I owe it to my dog, Boof, the best EmPAWyee there ever lived.

So that is my tribute to the best EmPAWyee that taught his family that the meaning to life and work is connection - deep and meaningful connection - be that with two or four legged friends. Adding a dash of laughter in is the secret ingredient to a good life. Having a labrador ensures that you get both a meaningful and a good life even if you get a few expensive vet bills.

dog
5

About the Creator

Anna Kerst

Hiya,

I am an Aussie wannabe writer that struggles to actually write. I live rurally with my fur baby and young daughter and husband. It is a happy but busy life. I love reading classics and good best sellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.