Petlife logo

Memories

From a Dear Friend

By Lucas DeanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
4

Hey Dad,

I hope you’re doing well, I know we haven’t been apart very long but I really miss you. There is a giant field full of my new friends here but each day I still think about you and our time spent together. Thank you for the adventures you took me on through the years. I still remember when you took me home that first summer, we would go fishing every day and end the night by lighting a fire on the beach. As the leaves started to change, we would hike out under that incredible canopy of colors to mark the sugar maples for tapping in the spring. What a treat it was when the snow started falling, we would be flying around on the sled and chasing rabbits through the woods for miles.

I will never forget that time you took off for college and had to leave me behind. That was the first time I felt this emptiness inside. I waited at the door every day and was so happy to see you again, when you came home for Christmas after that first semester. I jumped in your truck and swore I would never let you leave me again. Although you had to coax me out, I suppose you must have gotten the memo since you came back for me that summer and I was never left behind again.

The years that followed were definitely our golden years, running around campus from class to class. I can still smell the grass and hear the laughter of the students as we played fetch on the quad. You would take me to every rugby match and the team dressed me up and declared me the team mascot. You and I had so much fun together that year and boy how the ladies loved us too! I remember when you and Mom met that year, it was love at first sight (what can I say, I was an amazing wingman). But even as we both got older, and life got busier, you always made time for me.

I’m sorry I had to leave you alone down there. I’m sorry I couldn’t hang on any longer but I was so tired and everything hurt. I know it wasn’t easy on you either, my waking you up every hour of the night and asking you to stay by my side until the pain subsided. I know you must be hurting now, and I’m sorry for that. I wish I could be there with you, to curl up on the couch and watch the next episode of The Last of Us. I know it’s hard to say goodbye, but please don’t be sad for too long. Remember that life is short and it’s important to make the most of every moment. I always felt safe and loved with you, I know Mom and Sis do too. Treasure our time together, as I have, but don’t forget to share yourself with those who need you more than I do.

You’re the strongest person I know but sometimes it’s okay to be weak. Sometimes it’s okay to be sad and yes, you can even cry a little. You deserve feelings too. Thank you for being the best friend a good boy could ever ask for, I’ve got your back from up here. I love you, Dad.

Until our next adventure,

Your loyal partner.

dog
4

About the Creator

Lucas Dean

Aspiring to be a writer, failing as a wage slave. Let me know your thoughts, criticism and opportunities.

Give me a follow if you like my content :)

You can find me on Upwork and Medium or read some of my earlier opinion articles here

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chris Zabout a year ago

    Very touching and very relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.