Petlife logo

Marilyn Monroe & Audrey Hepburn

A Lovable Pair of Co-workers

By Christi CarmichaelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The carnival. It all started because my 6 year old daughter won a goldfish at the carnival. She named her Golden Girl, which I found brilliant because we love to watch episodes of the beloved show, and, well, she was naming a goldfish! The next morning, Golden Girl was floating at the top of the bowl, and I had to have my first conversation with my daughter, Savannah Grace, about Heaven. I remembered an episode of The Cosby Show where they had a funeral for Rudy's goldfish. After watching it on youtube, Savannah seemed to understand that sometimes this might happen to a little girl's pet goldfish. We then had our own fish funeral. That seemed to make her feel a little better.

We headed to the pet store to buy another goldfish. A goldfish. We walked out with two kittens. And so it began...

You should first understand that I am not a cat person. But when your little girl looks at you saying, "Please Mommy! Puh-leeeease can we get the kitties??" And of course you have the sales "adoption" lady saying she'd give me two for the price of one. Looking at my adorable daughter and the two cutest kittens ever in her lap, I caved.

Fast forward a few years, and I found myself working from home. The company I was selling an educational nursing program for had me meet virtually with potential students. The meetings usually lasted anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour. I had a separate office with an L-shaped glass desk. I had a brand new pink ergonomic, or gaming, chair. I loved it. I thought my office was so cute, crisp and clean that it was great for productivity.

The cats were not allowed in my office. So how did my office floor and desk end up with cat hair all over it you ask??

I had grown to love those two kittens. Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn. Marilyn was black and white with a perfectly round black dot on her left cheek. Audrey was her beautiful grey and white sister. Those two were quite a pair. Marilyn was the more playful of the two, and Audrey was calmer and more reserved. But they were both cuddlers. And boy were they both smart!

So as I said, I did love them very much, but I did not love the cat hair, nor when they stretched and pricked their claws into whatever they were stretching out on. I do not believe in declawing a cat, and clipped their front claws, however they still were able to ruin our couch. I was not loving that. And I was not letting them anywhere near that beautiful pink chair.

With my daughter's allergies, I had to keep them out of the bedroom as well. So every morning before my alarm went off, Audrey would meow at the bedroom door. "Mee-oww." Did I mention it was BEFORE my alarm went off? I would ignore her, trying to get the last 45 minutes of sleep in. "Meeee-ooowwwww!" And when I would still not answer, she would mush her face up to the crack in between the door and frame, and I swear it was a muffled but very clear "HELLLL-OOOOOO??!!" That stinker. I was up. Mad of course but laughing at how much it sounded like that. But I was mad...I mean, who did she think she was, Lionel Richie??

I would feed them first, then start to get ready for work. As I was brushing my teeth, inevitably one of them would jump up onto my back as I bent over to rinse. Ugh. It was like they thought I was bending over for them to jump up there! Did they laugh about it behind my back?? I bet they thought it was real funny. (Ok, it kinda was!)

And keeping them out of the office was a treat, too. Sometimes I had to just give in and let them stay. Usually they just wanted to sit on the windowsill. Otherwise they liked the cool glass of my desk on their bellies.

If I left the room for a glass of water (or wine if I were just entering my notes for the night), my keyboard would mysteriously change to another language...

The ironic truth was that after all the silly things they did that I thought drove me crazy, I did actually love them very much.

(Prepare for the sad ending...it stinks to end such a cute story this way but it's a true story, so here goes...) After losing my job due to Covid, we then lost our home, so we needed to find a new home for Marilyn and Audrey. I surprised myself, crying harder than I thought I would. I'm not sure who needed more consoling, Savannah or me! I had to be the adult and help Savannah through it, but I found it so difficult to say goodbye to these little souls who brought so much joy into our lives. I hope that they still remember us, and know how much we truly loved them.

So I guess all three of us lost our jobs. But the warmth and love they brought to this family and even my puuurrrfectly clean "cat free" office made them the best coworkers ever.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Christi Carmichael

Hi! My name is Christi & I love coming up with fun stories for my daughter! I have never written professionally, but would love to! I'm so excited to have found this group & to be able to share my stories with you. I hope you enjoy them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.