Petlife logo

Mariesio "Mo"

My child

By Hannah DawsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

To start things off I think its only fair to tell you all about the handsome cat in the picture above before I get to my favorite memory about him. It all started in the cursed year of 2020. I was driving home with my mom to pick up some stuff for her job. We had been feeding the neighborhood cat I called her Patience because she had none. Anyway we got home I noticed a small little white kitten in our flower pot. Being someone who has always loved and had pets immediately wanted one. My mom said no, reminding that I was allergic to cats and so was she. Later that night we found three more kittens. Two white ones, a gray one, and a black one. My first pick was not actually Mo funnily enough, Mo actually was very mean at first, he my first pick was one of his siblings. But they disappeared one day, so Mo bit me and scratched me so I knew he was mine! At first I thought Mo was a girl. He was a late bloomer, so I named him Marie after Marie from Disney's Aristocats. I called him Marie for many months, while I slowly gained his trust and brought him inside to live. He would hide under the bed, and I would put my hand under it, he would hiss and paw my hand away, then slowly it went from that to him holding my hand, then one day he became a pile of goo. All he wanted was to be held and loved. That's when I first discovered he was a boy. So I quickly renamed him Mariesio aka Mo. I guess since now you know all about him you need to know my favorite memory of him. Its also in way, one I'll never forget for a sad reason as well. It all started the day it was his appointment at his least favorite place in the world. The vet. Little did he know that day he would hate the vet even more, that day he was getting fixed. He was scared but very brave on the way there. He meowed and meowed but was only calm when I would sing him Everybody wants to be a cat" from the Aristocats. We arrived to the vets office and I called in saying that Mo had arrived. (Being still in the middle of Covid no one was allowed to go in) One of the nurses came out and got him. He meowed as if in protest as she took his carrier from my arms. As the nurse was walking him in Mo looked back at me his eyes pitiful and sad, as if saying: "Mommy! Mommy! Where are they taking me?" seeing that face, I broke down in tears. Working from home that day, I was checking my phone every two seconds. I was so scared something would happen to him. Around ten I finally received the phone call from the vets office that answered my prayers. My baby boy had made it through the surgery and he was ok. I could relax slightly, but I couldn't relax fully until he was back in my arms again. Finally when four o'clock hit my work day was over and it was time to pick up my baby boy. Driving there my mom, brother, and I were very excited to see Mo. Arriving we called and said that we were here to pick him up after what felt like centuries they finally brought him out. He was still very woozy and sleepy. The vet gave me his pain medication and we drove off. Despite his drowsiness he would look up at me every few minutes and he wanted me to pet him. Arriving home we allowed his brother to see him then put him in my mom's room to rest. The next morning is my favorite memory, before work I walked in the room to give him his pain medication wrapped inside cheese. I sat on the floor to pet him and love him before I had to get ready. Mo my former rough and tumble stray cat crawled in my lap and snuggled into it wanting me to pet him. I started crying out of happiness and petted and kissed the top of his head. Now he demands morning and night cuddles, as I'm writing this he's sound asleep on top of a shelf. But that my friends is my favorite memory of my baby boy Mariesio "Mo" Dawson.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dawson

I'm an aspiring writer. I work as a para professional with special needs kids. I love to read, cosplay, and hang out with my family and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.