Petlife logo

Mad Max: Furry Road

The best memory with my dog

By Dylan Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

My dog Max is a highly energetic and extremely well-mannered dog. He's super playful and hardly ever barks. My favourite memory of Max would have to be our walks together. There is a trail that is not far from our house, I walk him down to the trail and let him off the leash to walk the trail freely. We sometimes go for long walks and sometimes it's just a short walk. No matter how long the walk is Max loves it. As soon as I grabbed the leash he starts jumping around all excited knowing we are going for a walk.

I'm not sure how to make this a six hundred word story. I guess I'll give a step by step process of the walk and try to make it feel like you (the reader) are taking my dog on a walk.

I grab the blue dog leash hanging beside the door, Max begins barking with excitement jumping around in circles. I open the door and in flows a breeze of fresh air. I hook the dog leash around Max's collar and we begin walking down the laneway. The bridge on our road is under construction so I don't have to worry about any cars. Max and I walk down the road, with rows of corn on one side and a downwards hill filled with tree's leading to a river on the other. It's about a 400 m walk from our house to the trail, we just crossed the bridge right before the trail. We've made it, I call out Max's name and disconnect the leash from his collar. "Go boy," I say, as Max run's down the trail. He gets about 10 m in front of me stops and turns his little head around waiting for me to catch up. The trail is a beautiful sight shining in the sunlight. Green leaves cover the tree's, flowers grow between the weeds, a river flows I hear the stream, am I on a walk or in a dream. The manmade trail continues on but Max stopped up ahead, he knows we aren't going to follow it. A pathway through the tree's along the river's edge, left behind by the fishermen, we will take instead. Overgrown with weeds the path is small, shaded by tree's standing tall. Behind the tree's to the left the river is flowing, Max disappeared in the long grass ahead of me. There is a meadow of tall grass on the right, as I continue down the path it is replaced by a forest area. Hundreds of tree's, the birds and the bee's, a world in nature is a world filled with peace. Maybe not always, but right now for sure, I'm at peace walking Max in this magnificent scenery. The trail bends and curves through the woods, Max keeps running up ahead where I can't see him and running back to see if I'm still here. I duck underneath a couple low branches, the trail now goes right down to the water. It's a shallow, rocky area of the river, with the tree's and sunlight it's a gorgeous sight. The path now leads uphill away from the river through the trees, not far up the hill is a fork in the road. It splits off in two directions, one way goes up into a farmer's field and the other goes parallel to the river halfway up the hillside through the trees. The path through the trees has a bunch of 'no trespassing' signs, so Max and I just cut through the farmers field back to the original trail. That's the end of the walk! Time to head home.

Sorry for throwing in a little bit of poetry, I'm still practicing my writing skills, I'm really tired, and I thought I'd practice some poetry. I hope you enjoyed this story and felt the experience of walking my dog.

dog
1

About the Creator

Dylan

Hello! I am a writer, poet, rapper, and musician trying to make it in this crazy world! If you like my poem's please leave a like and subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.