Petlife logo

Lucky the Quail

A Story About our Bond & Experiences

By Amanda Nicole AdamsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kioko The CUddly Quail Spud

Lucky the Quail

Our Time Together

To begin with, I am writing this story in remembrance of Lucky who passed away last year (2020). Lucky came into my life soon after I discovered pickled quail eggs and how good they tasted, while on a trip to Alabama with my boyfriend. After that I had got the idea to try and raise one or more female quail for their eggs, to create my own pickled eggs since they are a tad pricey. I searched the internet for incubators with eggs and found one that was affordable.

Out of about eight eggs, only one hatched that turned out to be a male. Since incubating eggs and trying to get any of them to hatch is tricky and the chances was slim, that is why I named him Lucky. After he hatched, we spent a lot of time together with feeding him, bathing him, keeping him warm, gave him little rubs and scratches, talked to him and whistled at him. I gave him as much attention and care as I could and ended up being one spoiled little quail, lol.

Over time we created a special bond between each other. I was crazy about that bird and I could tell he loved me back. I would pay attention to his behavior and movements. Believe me when I say that quails are more intelligent than you think they are.

I had kept him close to my bedroom and he kept up with where I was and was always curious. There would be times when I would whistle to him and whether he could see me or not he would crow back. He would also crow to get my attention. He also made a decent house alarm system, because if he heard an unfamiliar noise he would start crowing.

One morning I heard him crowing while I was still in bed and then I started hearing a tapping and scratching noise on my bedroom door (knowing it was him wanting my attention). After I got up and opened the door, I looked down and there he was. Then he started running around my feet, pecking at them as if he wanted to be picked up. He would also follow me around and stayed close to me.

Raising him from an egg, I believed he thought of me as his mother. He got to live for a long time as a happy, healthy, spoiled bird until his age caught up with him. When he was passing away, he tried to go to my bedroom to find me as if he was wanting to see me to say goodbye (This happened while I was sleeping overnight). When I got up in the morning and opened the door, his lifeless body was laying on the floor near my door. I said my final goodbye to him and gave him a proper burial.

At some point I plan to do a painting of a quail that I can hang on my wall. If I ever get another male quail in the future, I plan to name him Lucky also. That was a very sad day for me, but I know he is in a much better place now. I will never forget that sweet bird and he will always have a special place in my heart.

Notice: The video content above is not mine and comes from a YouTube channel called, Kioko The CUddly Quail Spud. The title of the video is called, Neck Kisses. I used her video as an example of how my pet quail Lucky was when he was alive. Please checkout her channel to see more videos of how sweet and affectionate quails can be. By the time you're done watching her videos, you might find yourself wanting one too!

bird
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole Adams

Born and raised in Georgia, mother of two, interests and hobbies are arts, crafts, collecting plants & herbs for natural healing, prospecting, rock hounding, Yellowstone supervolcano and the activities and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.