Petlife logo

Love at first sight

The love of Bulldogs

By Michelle KingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I have owned dogs my entire life, the breed I was most used to was the Staffordshire Bull Terrier. These dogs have a bad rep but in my opinion they are looking at the wrong end of the lead. I came across an ad once for an American Bulldog, I had never owned this breed before. I did a bit of reading on their breed and decided to go pick this dog up. I arrived at the door and was welcomed in. As I walked into the living room I saw the dog I had seen so many times but only in picture form, he approached me and instantly the owner told the dog off he went as flat as a pancake, this dog was scared he also looked underweight for his size. The woman wanted £1000 but I offerred her £600 due to his condition. I attached the lead handed over the money and left. Once outside the dog was jumping around like an excited deer, it was evident he had, had no previous training. Once I got home I introduced him to my female Staffordhire Bull Terrier called Roxy, it was like love at first sight. I called the vet and made an appointment for him to be seen, his name was Geo but I changed it to Buddy as I felt it was more suited to his sweet nature. At the vet it was found Buddy had 14 injuries including a fractured tooth along with his weight it was clear he hadn't had the best start in life, he also had muscle wastage in his hind legs consistent with being sat down a lot. The vet looked at me with a concerned look and said this dog has been abused. This saddened me, as I took his big bear head in my hands I looked at him and made him a promise, his life of abuse was over. Buddy had no seperation anxiety he loved it with me and would shower me in licks and cuddles it was like he was saying thank you. He had weekly visits at the vets to be weighed he put on 2kg in a 2 week period, the vet was pleased. He was booked in to be nuetered and settled in to his new life. Buddy fitted right in and passed all tests with flying colours, he was great with kids and other dogs. Buddy is nearing his 9th birthday the thought of life without him is just too much to bare. I made the choice to get another American Bulldog the search was on, I came across a post on facebook of a female American Bulldog and she was in labour. I typed the name into my messenger and enquired about the puppies. I was the first to message so was given pick of the litter, we chose a boy with a red patch around his eye and some patches on his back, we named him Kano. Kano was in Newcastle and we lived in Scotland, an 8 hour journey from us. I was super excited so off we set for Newcastle to pick up the new addition. When we arrived we were welcomed and taken to the living room, and there sitting on the lady's knee was Kano and he was stunning. He did ever so well on the drive back up sleeping most of the way, he had a little car sickness but apart from that it was a successful journey. Now to see if the big boy liked him, as soon as Buddy saw Kano his tail was wagging he wanted to play and before long they were cuddled up together sound asleep, Success!! I thought to myself. I stayed in contact with the family sending them pictures and videos of Kano as he grew, they were glad he went to good home. I remain close friends with the family and we talk on social media a lot. I got a message one day to say that their bitch was pregnant again this was not planned and they had no choice but to deal with it. The puppies were just too tempting I booked another one this time a little girl called Bonnie, she is pure white except from one red patch on her back. I then picked another one this time a boy his name is Bronson and he is pure white, I know you probably think I am insane but the way I see it is I can't make a difference for every dog in the world but I can make a difference to mine. I have always wanted a pack of dogs, we love the outdoors so American Bulldogs are well suited to us and our life style and I have the time and patience to look after them. It will be hard work no doubt about that but by the end we will have a pack of Bulldogs that are happy and fulfilled. Bonnie and Bronson are 4 weeks old now and due to be picked up soon, another road trip to Newcastle. The couple are glad 2 more of their babies come join us in Scotland to have the time of their life.

American Bulldogs also have a bad rep, they are a large breed and can look intimidating to bystanders but they are truly one of the most gentle loving giants I have ever come across, hence why I love them so much. Sometimes I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew but I quickly remind myself that it will be worth it. I have the time and the love just not enough bed!! Obviously as they are litter mates there will be no breeding and extra care will be taken to avoid this. I may breed Bonnie once when she is around 3 years old just so I can experience the puppy love. I have what I always wanted my very own pack, a pack that will be loved and cherished just like god intended.

breeds
Like

About the Creator

Michelle King

I write from the heart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.