Petlife logo

Look Through Any Window

And You Might See A Pussy Cat

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
10
Three Kittens In A Window

Introduction

I am repeating myself when I say that I go out for walks to try and keep myself fit, and that has probably saved my life, you know why.

When I'm out I see things and thanks to our digital devices sometimes called phones, I like to take pictures and share them on social media then I started seeing cats and realized that as often as not they would pose to take a picture.

Another Cat In A Window

Feline Photography On My Walks

With the climate crisis, the weather is becoming far more unpredictable and I cannot be sure of seeing any cats when I walk out, even if the weather is fine, but especially not when it is cold, windy or raining.

The thing is there may not be any cats on the streets but so often they are sat in windows, looking at me extremely disdainfully. Often photographing cats in windows is difficult because of the reflections that you get, and usually, you cannot catch the attention of the cats unless they deign to take a cursory interest in you.

This is about taking pictures of cats so I am not sure if it should be in the Petlife or Photography Vocal Communities but I will probably plump for the former.

This Guy Sits On His Stand, Sometimes At The top
Sometimes At The Bottom, Same disdainful look

So many households in my area have at least one cat in there and many have multiple feline family members which is not surprising as all my cat-owning friends (Juliet, Katie, Amanda, Les and many others) have more than one cat in their houses.

I love meeting cats and taking photographs ( do we still call them that? They are digital pictures, nothing more) but I suppose when they are not outside it then becomes more of a challenge.

One thing is when taking pictures when the cats are inside you have to be very careful to make sure there are no identifying clues like house numbers, car number plates or street names.

Rainbow Cat

This was an example when I talked to his owner who was extremely happy for me to take pictures of him, but you can see the reflection of the car in the window because it was such a sunny day, but even on drab days the reflections caused by the glass can ruin the picture you try to take.

A Feline Trio
Two Together

Cats In Different Windows

The special ones for me are when I see more than one cat in a window. You can't stroke them or talk to them but you know that they are being looked after and therefore probably having a very good life, like the three in the main picture and the ones that you see in the pictures above this paragraph.

I know this is a gallery of Cats, but I think they are enjoyable to look at and I hope you feel the same way.

This Morning's Cat

Today I have seen a few more in their windows although it is quite a mild day today in 'Nam, but those kitties are concerned with comfort and keeping warm, as well as being fed.

The Feline Stare

I just love the stare that this black cat gave me from its window. Those eyes are just so piercing.

Feline Disdain

I see a lot of cats lying in their windows, but often they turn so you can just see their back, or completely lie down so you can see nothing but a lump of fur, but despite completely ignoring me this one did pose for a face profile.

One Turned Its Back

Concluding Kitty Cats In Windows

I hope you have enjoyed these pictures, I have finished with that trio but one turned its back on me completely, but cats always do what they feel like doing, they tolerate us until they evolve opposable thumbs.

Have a wonderful day everyone.

listsocial mediaphotographycat
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    MD - It's so obvious that you avoid me - I have no desire to compete with you nor do I enter contests - But, being in Labor Law I get that. And, I 'Respect' that you do so with vigor. I'm just a retired StoryTeller to Archive "For our Kids Someday" - Nothing More - My Thanks for being so Helpful to our Community, Mike Jay Kantor

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I can't remember who said that cats don't live in our world, but we live in theirs and they are kind enough to tolerate us. I find that to be so true! I have two cats at home, and they often give passers-by a disdainful look. LOL! A very nice series of photos, Mike!

  • Anyone who doesn't love cats is just a dog person. (Said as derogatory, though how could it possibly be taken as such? Dogs are wondrously lovable & loving critters, too, & far more demonstrative!)

  • Natalie Wilkinson9 months ago

    Authors and cats just naturally go together.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    I love cats. Great pics and reading. Thanks for the share

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Mike, the pictures are great, but in the last paragraph did you mean home or hope?

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Cuties 💓

  • Stephanie Wilson9 months ago

    Aww what a lovely group of cat pics to start the day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.