Petlife logo

Little Sparrow

Animals are the companions of human beings" ----- For this statement, I have always been convinced. So

By AliceParsonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Little Sparrow
Photo by Verstappen Photography on Unsplash

Animals are the companions of human beings" ----- For this statement, I have always been convinced. So, whenever I see others walking their dogs and cats in the park or by the creek, their faces are always covered with happy and loving smiles. My mind was filled with the thought ----- I want to have a pet too! After countless times of "pestering" and "softening", my mother finally agreed to my request ---- to have a pet. Thus, my first pet ----- sparrow, arrived home.

The feather color of this little sparrow is a little different from other birds. It is brown all over, in these brown feathers, faintly presenting the stars of white spots. These spots are very scattered from a close look, there is no rule to speak of, but from a distance, there is a hazy taste so that people have an impulse to come closer to play. I think this may be the origin of the name "sparrow".

The little sparrow just arrived home in a few days and did not show a lively, cheerful personality. It always seemed to be looking out the window with great sadness or fluttering against the birdcage. When I saw this, I put the bird cage near the balcony window stand and added some bird food and water to it, thinking that it might be a new environment and that after a while, the sparrow would get used to it. In the time that followed, I poured all my love and care into the sparrow. When it rained and it was windy, I took the bird cage back to the balcony so that the sparrow would not get cold; when the day was warm and sunny, I opened the window and put the bird cage outside so that the sparrow could bask in the sunlight and get some air; when there was less water and less bird food, I added it in time; when there were feces in the bird cage, I always cleaned it in time. Every day when I come home from school, I always have to tease the sparrows with the bird cage. I always thought that after working hard, the sparrows would sooner or later recognize me as their owner.

But then something unfortunate happened! One day, just after I entered the house, I heard a "bang, bang" sound in the living room. I rushed over to check and found that the small door of the bird cage had been opened at some point, and the little sparrow was flying around the living room, bumping around. I went to catch it, but it flew more quickly and scurried more fiercely. I used bird food to lure it, but the sparrow was not even looking at it. Perhaps, the sparrow is tired of flying, it stood on top of the air conditioning cabinet, and kept "chirping". I took this opportunity to use a mop stick to stab the sparrow down. At this time, I saw the little sparrow "whoosh" to a hundred meters sprint speed flew out, "bang" hit the balcony window glass, and then fell on the floor. In this lightning time, I closed my eyes in fear, and there was a strong stabbing pain in my heart. When I opened my eyes, I found that the little sparrow was already lying motionless on the floor of the balcony. I walked over with tears in my eyes and held the little sparrow in my hands, and I could still feel the body heat of the little sparrow in my hands. At that moment, the little sparrow in my hand moved. I saw it struggling to support its entire body with its feet and wings, but its head was struggling to lift and reach towards the window. Seeing this scene, I had a slight feeling in my heart. I opened the window without hesitation, picked up the sparrow with both hands, and stretched it outward as far as I could, saying in my heart: Bless you, little sparrow! The little sparrow in my hands, fluttered a few times and flew out into the air.

I looked in the direction of the sparrow that flew away and thought: sparrow's body is small, but has a strong, pursuit of freedom of the heart; to freedom, it used its weak body to hit the "window" that imprisoned it; even after hitting faint just awakened, but also to their heads to "freedom! The "free" sky. I sighed from the bottom of my heart: the little sparrow, it's something!

bird
Like

About the Creator

AliceParson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.