Petlife logo

Kitties Never Say Goodbye

From the Adventures of a Traveling Pet Sitter Saga

By Melissa, the EmpressPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Kitties Never Say Goodbye
Photo by James Sutton on Unsplash

You’d think I’d be used to this by now.

We’ve already packed everything we could, and have put a majority of our things in the car, just finishing tidying up before we hit the road, but they are nowhere to be found. We look in their favorite hiding spots, in their cardboard boxes that they refuse to allow us to throw away, and on their favorite chairs, but they aren’t there. We call their names, shake their treat bags, and even offer something special like a plate of cream or a bite of tuna, and still, no response.

From the very first pet sit we did, I learned that cats are not okay with saying goodbye. They see us packing up our things and they know what’s about to come. I’m not sure if they understand their owners are coming back, or if they think we are just leaving them behind to fend for themselves, but they know something is happening without their consent. Sometimes they come for extra cuddles once they see the suitcases, other times they run and hide. When the day comes that we have to leave, they refuse to say goodbye to us.

Traveling and pet sitting for years, and I’m still not used to the snub we receive when we leave, especially after daily lap time and evening cuddle-fests. I’d like to think that it’s too painful for them, just as it is for me, but maybe that’s wishful thinking. I’ve shared this sentiment with others and they all laugh at me. Every person tells me that cats have no feelings and do not care about their humans at all. Their examples include cats not listening to them when asked to do something, or knocking knick-knacks off of shelves whenever the cats please. I scoff at the idea of this because I feel as if I know better. Yes, they will knock things off the counter, but its probably just for attention, or because that object is in their way. Plus, how can anyone be upset at such adorable little furballs?

Cats are known for being aloof and having a carefree attitude, but I see a different side of them every time we care for them at a new sit. I see them struggle to stay on my lap when I try to get up because I can’t put off going to the bathroom any longer. I receive daily head boops as greetings and thanks for treats and pets. I see their eyes light up when Michael plays with them with what we call the jangle-on-a-stick. I watch them meow for Michael and eagerly await his return when he goes grocery shopping. I see them get excited when either one of us return from a day out or a long walk around the neighborhood. I hear them try to sneak in our room at night for overnight cuddles when they think we are asleep. I even see the recognition in their little eyes when we return for another visit, and they immediately return to afternoon naps on our laps. These are not habits of a non-caring being; these are clear signs of loving little kitties.

Yeah, cats are aloof, and have no problem with giving attitude when they feel it is necessary, but that doesn’t mean they are heartless. They still care, even if only about the things they want to care about, including their human companions. They still want to love and be loved, just like anyone else. They still get sad, perhaps even when they lose a new friend, just like we do when we leave the kitties behind.

And maybe, just maybe, that’s why they can’t say goodbye.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Melissa, the Empress

I’ve been a writer since I was a kid, including short stories, poems, and autobiographical stories, too. I’ll be writing my personal stories as well as witchy stories and tarot tips.

snipfeed.co/empressofthenightslight

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.