Petlife logo

In Praise of Joey and Katherine

Joey: My Sister's Cat

By Amelia ReilingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Joey

In Praise of Joey and Katherine

At one point you watched Aladdin while sitting on my sister's lap. You previously had lived underneath a friend's home and trotted to the neighbor's garage to be fed. When I held you in my arms at the veterinarian clinic, I knew. I was in trouble.

We (my sister and myself) hid you in my room so my dad would not find out while he visited. We already had two cats, and he would be upset about a third one.

You slept by my side sprawled out like a human and looked at me with warmth. We intended to foster you. However, I could not reject you. Nor could my sister.

You followed me around. Leapt into my lap constantly. And sat on my lap and placed your paws on my keyboard when I worked on my computer. You chased your tail. You attacked me playfully, paws swiping when I passed by in the hallway; you were hiding beneath a small decorative table. You comforted me constantly when I grieved my losses by simply being there. You cuddled with me as I slept. You purred upon my touch. When I picked you up, you stayed in my arms, and you did not push me away.

You are the cat I never had or experienced. Joey, you exhibit a unique humanity that cats possess, and I intend to adopt one who resembles your personality.

I am grateful to my sister for bringing you into my life.

My sister has always been an animal lover. However, I did not initially understand her love of animals. As I look at one of Joey's photos, I imagine what she would say about him at this given moment.

Joey, don't harass the other cats. (when he attempts to play with them)

Joey, you're on the Christmas tree branches! How did you pull that off? Why aren't they crashing down with you?

Joey says, I'm fluffy, not fat.

Joey, why do you hang out in the laundry room? Are you trying to ruin the clean laundry?

Joey, you sleep like a human. On your side.

Joey, why do you hang out in the litterbox? You just sit in it. Does that look like fun to you? That's disgusting!

Katherine had a special voiceover for Joey, and she'd use it to talk to me. As a result, "Joey" and I would have candid conversations.

I love you, Joey. I would say.

I love you too, my sister would say, in Joey’s “voice.”

Katherine would speak about animals and their rights in general. Not only about Joey. She would advocate for their emotional and physical safety, and she taught me how they were human and in touch with love and capable of feeling all types of emotions. But they couldn't always defend themselves since they couldn’t communicate with us. She taught me to advocate against animal abuse. She would continually educate others about animal abuse, and her love of animals compelled her to also work as a vet tech at a clinic for awhile. She would also post on FaceBook about abused animals and advocate for ones to be rescued. Most notably, she’d post dialogue between herself and her animals. These videos were entertaining as she was gifted in voiceovers. She could change her voice to match the animal and then respond to them with her own voice. It was easy for her.

Through her, I learned to treat animals like a brother or sister, and now I honestly believe it's a privilege to care for animals. I am forever grateful to my sister for teaching me about loving animals.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Amelia Reiling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.